log in or register to remove this ad

 

5E Wording of Hex Warrior

TrueBagelMan

Explorer
So I was looking at Hex Warrior. At 1st level you can touch one weapon after a long rest and you can use CHA instead of STR or DEX until the end of your next long rest. After a long rest you can do this again. Now if you get Pact of The Blade can I summon my pact weapon with CHA and choose a weapon at the end of my long rest?




Hex Warrior
At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons.

The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest.
If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


77IM

Explorer!!!
Supporter
If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.
Based on the sentence prior to this one, "this benefit" means the Charisma thing from two sentences prior. It does not mean the touching thing. The touching is just how you apply the benefit; it's not the benefit. (Don't get me wrong; I think touching your weapon during a long rest is perfectly normal and healthy for a warlock your age.)

"extends to every pact weapon you conjure" = I interpret the word "every" in this sentence to mean just that. The benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure, no matter its type, and no matter whether or not you have touched it at the end of a long rest.
 

I wonder whether or not the intent is to say that you can get the Cha bonus on both your pact weapon and one other weapon simultaneously. I always assumed that using your pact weapon still counted as the "one" weapon, but the phrasing is very unclear.
 

I wonder whether or not the intent is to say that you can get the Cha bonus on both your pact weapon and one other weapon simultaneously. I always assumed that using your pact weapon still counted as the "one" weapon, but the phrasing is very unclear.
RAW, it appears you can have a touched weapon and a pact weapon that you can add your CHA with. However, the touched weapon must be proficient and not two handed, wheras the pact weapon can be anything (I'm surprised you don't see more warlocks packing laser carbines :whistle: ).
 
Last edited:

RAW, it appears you can have a touched weapon and a pact weapon that you can add your CHA with. However, the touched weapon must be proficient and not two handed, wheras the pact weapon can be anything (I'm surprised you don't see more warlocks packing laser carbines :whistle: ).
I think there's a shortage of magical laser carbines in most campaigns. A bladelock can make any magical weapon into his pact weapon, but he can only create melee weapons.
 

dnd4vr

The Smurfiest Wizard Ever!
I wonder whether or not the intent is to say that you can get the Cha bonus on both your pact weapon and one other weapon simultaneously. I always assumed that using your pact weapon still counted as the "one" weapon, but the phrasing is very unclear.
I suppose that is up to the DM, but nothing in the text implies the Hex Warrior weapon and the Pact Weapon must be the same weapon.

Example, suppose after finishing your long rest you bond a longsword via Hex Warrior to use CHA. Later in a fight you use your Pact Weapon feature to create a shortsword in your other hand. Since it is a Pact Weapon, to automatically gains the benefit of the Hex Warrior feature as well.
 

ClaytonCross

Kinder reader Inflection wanted
I think there's a shortage of magical laser carbines in most campaigns. A bladelock can make any magical weapon into his pact weapon, but he can only create melee weapons.
If the warlock gets the improved pact weapon invocation they can make ranged weapons. though I doubt most GMs are going to let Laser Carbine fly. lol

I like the idea having a sword, changing it to a glave or whip with booming blade to assist the tank, then a crossbow when enemies run instead of eldritch blast.
 
Last edited:

I think there's a shortage of magical laser carbines in most campaigns. A bladelock can make any magical weapon into his pact weapon, but he can only create melee weapons.
There are still quite a few options for warlocks who like to push their luck: e.g. a Shadow Blade, Elven Double Bladed Scimitar, Light Sabre, Chainsword etc.... ;)
 

Seramus

Adventurer
Yes, you can make your Hex Warrior weapon different from your Pact of the Blade weapon and use charisma for both.

In fact, it may be possible to get a discount Two Weapon Fighting Style if Hex Warrior gives you charisma to damage on your off-hand.
 

In fact, it may be possible to get a discount Two Weapon Fighting Style if Hex Warrior gives you charisma to damage on your off-hand.
It doesn't.

It lets you use charisma instead of Strength or Dex. If you don't get a strength or dex bonus you can't get a cha bonus.

If you multiclass to fighter and get two weapon fighting style, then you can dual wield and apply your cha bonus to your off hand weapon, but not without.
 






NotAYakk

Legend
My homebrew modification to pact of the blade lets them make melee spell attacks instead of ranged spell attacks when they cast spells. If they do so, they can add their strength to the spell damage roll (if the weapon is finess, they can instead add dexterity).

This works really good with eldritch blast (which is a warlock class feature in my 'brew), giving them a decent melee attack. They can also scorching ray or whatever else.

It isn't as gross as it seems, as most of the strong melee feats require melee weapon attacks, and these are that. But a 20 dex 20 cha level 17 warlock with hex is dealing 1d10+1d6+5+5=19 x4 with a knife and can trigger EB invocations on top of that, which is solid.
 


jmartkdr2

Adventurer
I think one of the designers tweeted that having two weapons with the benefit is allowed by the rules. He didn't quite say it's the intent, but he did say it was allowed.
 

NotAYakk

Legend
Reminds me of Eldritch Glaive.
Blade: Make melee spell attacks instead of range, +str/dex to damage if so.
Tome: Get bonus warlock spells as spells known, not just on list. 1/day cast one of them from your tome without using a slot as if you spent a warlock slot.
Chain: Familiar gains +3 HP/warlock level and +Prof to AC/ATK/Damage/DCs. Bonus action order to attack.

Makes them all interestingly different play-wise without invocation tax.
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top