D&D 5E Fighter or Bladelock

newsman77

First Post
Hello Fellow Gamers

Could you please give me your advice? I'll be joining an second round of Princes of the Apocalypse in a few days. Our last group wiped, and now we're having to start all over again, at level 1. Our table uses the standard array and only things from PHB & DMG are allowed, and we need to be "good guys" and not a roving murder squad. There are 6 other people in the party: TWF Ranger, Archer Fighter, Melee Cleric, Barbarian, Sorcerer, Valor Bard.

My background is that I'm chasing a member of my order who has gone rogue and become a serial killer. My mentor and I'm are assigned to track him down and bring him back to face justice. We're in Red Larch because that's where he was last spotted after murdering the mother of two other PC's.

So I came up with these 2 builds (Battlemaster & Bladelock). Which one would be the better on to play, to keep up with the pack and still remain useful to the group. My only concern is the Bladelock won't be able to keep up.

1) A Jedi type character, using Warlock to simulate the force push, mind trick etc.
Human Variant Warlock 1
10/16/14/8/12/14
Variant Feat: Alert
Pack: Fiend or Great Old One
**Plans to go Bladelock, pick up Devil's Sight, Darkness, Hex.

2) A more bounty hunter type character
Human Variant Fighter 1
16/12/14/8/14/10
Variant Feat: Polearm Master
Fighting Style: Great Weapon Fighting
**Plans to go Battlemaster, (with maybe Disarm, Trip attack, etc.) pick up Great Weapon Master at 4, stat buff at 6 and maybe another feat or stat bump at 8.

I like the versatility of the Bladelock with the Eldricth Blast for ranged attacks, which is a weakness for me at melee. However, I'm usually attracted to heavy armored melee types.

What do you think? Which path should I choose?

Kobold Stew

Last Guy in the Airlock
Supporter
Welcome to the boards! Is this really your first post after seven years of lurking? Fantastic!