Force Orb Question

Markn

First Post
I'm sure its been asked. Never it gave it much thought before.

If you miss with Force Orb do you make an attack against a secondary target? We have played up till now that yes you do but now I don't think so. The secondary attack is indented which seems to imply a hit is needed on the first target.

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The secondary attack is indented which seems to imply a hit is needed on the first target.

This is correct, though not necessarily just because of the indentation. On the hit line, it says make a secondary attack, so when you hit, you make a secondary attack.
 

Mengu is correct. The advantage of Force Orb is it hits *enemies* only, so you can throw it in the middle of a melee. The disadvantage is you have to hit the with the primary to get the secondary attacks. Clever players will use abilities to get bonuses on their primary attack if they want the secondary attacks.
 

If you really need to hit all of the targets (perhaps they're minions), you can target the ground at their feet. You won't do the increased damage of the primary attack, but you're much more likely to get the secondary attacks. Most spells don't alow this, but Force Orb specifies that it can target objects.
 

Yeah but the spirit of the spell is that it's supposed to attack a creature successfully, or at least something that damage matters to. You might find that bag-o-rats'd away from you, depending on your DM.
 



Yeah but the spirit of the spell is that it's supposed to attack a creature successfully, or at least something that damage matters to. You might find that bag-o-rats'd away from you, depending on your DM.

I disagree. I think it's very specifically worded so that it can be used to get the adjacent attacks without getting the primary in such a manner. Now, were I a DM, I'd rule that you still have to roll to hit the spot you want to, but you'd get a bonus for attacking the ground and wasting the primary hit.
 

I disagree. I think it's very specifically worded so that it can be used to get the adjacent attacks without getting the primary in such a manner. Now, were I a DM, I'd rule that you still have to roll to hit the spot you want to, but you'd get a bonus for attacking the ground and wasting the primary hit.

At what DC?
 

Yeah but the spirit of the spell is that it's supposed to attack a creature successfully, or at least something that damage matters to. You might find that bag-o-rats'd away from you, depending on your DM.

Quite true. I'm one of those DM's who don't consider the ground an object, I consider it terrain. Obviously, different DMs do it differently. The differances are due to the fact there is no definition for object, just examples.
 

Remove ads

Top