+1 Damage Keyword Feats and Multiple Sources

Rechan

Adventurer
If you take a feat that does +1 damage when keywords are involved, and you have a secondary ability that does extra damage of that keyword, do you get the +1 to the secondary effect too?

For instance, just because it's the first thing I thought of, let's take the Storm Genasi. They have an encounter power that, when they use a power that has the Thunder or Lightning keyword, they may do an extra 1d8 points of thunder or lightning damage.

Let's say our Storm genasi has Raging Storm (+1 to Lightning and Thunder keyworded powers).

If the Genasi uses Thunderwave. He receives the +1 to damage for it being the Thunder keyword. Then, he uses his Racial ability to get +1d8 thunder damage to the power. Does his 1d8 racial power receive the +1 damage?

The same question could be asked with "Burning Blizzard" and the secondary attack for Acid Arrow; does the secondary attack that hits adjacent foes give the +1 to damage as well?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you take a feat that does +1 damage when keywords are involved, and you have a secondary ability that does extra damage of that keyword, do you get the +1 to the secondary effect too?

Yes, so long as that secondary effect has a damage roll (since it specifies that you get a +1 bonus to damage rolls when using a power with the proper keyword).
 


Okay, so things like the Paladin's Divine Challenge would not get the +1 for its Radiant power.

Exactly. Same thing with Weapon Focus and things like Reaping Strike or Cleave, which deal automatic damage. No bonus from the feat, since it only applies to damage rolls, explicitly.
 

I don't know, think about it this way.

The power adds "extra" damage to another power, so, in the end you're still only making one damage roll.

Now, from your example, let's say we got an Int of 18, and said powers and feat:

1d6 (thunderwave) + 1d8 (Promise of Storm) + 4 (Int mod.) +1 (feat bonus) +1 (feat bonus)

Do you think it's right?
 

I don't know, think about it this way.

The power adds "extra" damage to another power, so, in the end you're still only making one damage roll.

Now, from your example, let's say we got an Int of 18, and said powers and feat:

1d6 (thunderwave) + 1d8 (Promise of Storm) + 4 (Int mod.) +1 (feat bonus) +1 (feat bonus)

Do you think it's right?
To be fair, the Promise of Storm is a power with a Thunder/Lightning Keyword. You're also rolling damage, etc.
 


To be fair, the Promise of Storm is a power with a Thunder/Lightning Keyword. You're also rolling damage, etc.

It just adds extra damage to the base power. It doesn't make it it's own damage roll, not rolled separately, so, even if it could inherit (see below) the feat bonus to damage, it wouldn't stack because of the rule of stacking.

(For reference, I'll point you to p. 276 of the PHB, under "Damage Rolls". The part that is relevant is: "In addition, any of the following factors might apply to a damage roll:")

Now, on the other example you gave (Burning Blizzard + Acid Arrow) , I believe it's debatable, since then you will be rolling damage again.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top