log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E 20th level Sorcerer vs the world

Hohige

Explorer
"DM pwease help me!" Because, you can't find a rule that says this happens, and I can find the rule that says the DM determines if an action succeeds automatically, fails automatically, or requires a roll. If it requires a roll, the GM picks the check and sets the DC and determines the outcomes (pass or fail). You have no ability to declare this to be true, at all. This isn't 3.x with diplomancy.

Everything has a Check against a DC or creature's insight. 30 is nearly impossible, as you see in the player's book.
 

log in or register to remove this ad





Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
Sims only use resources against powerful enemies.
Okay, then, so the Sorcerer doesn't have a 9th level slot, an 8th level slot, and is down 1 5th level slot. We'll ignore that one because you're going to spend your time short resting often and get that back. Oh, wait, that's another "DM pwease help me" because rests aren't automatic, and the DM can, by the rules, set limits on how often you can benefit from a rest.

The Sims did cast stuff, though -- your Primary Sim is out the spells needed to summon the celestial (5th level slot) and upcasted planar binding (180 days, right?) so the Sim is out a 9th (not copied) and now an 8th and a 5th, which he cannot regain, even through sorcery points (if you're going to be a stickler about the specifics of the rule, it does say spell slots and doesn't make an exception for font of magic -- although technically the amount of spell point is part of an ability, which is it barred from ever increasing).

You have a 20th level spellcaster and his Sim that can't cast spells over 7th level, very interesting. Also, one of your Celestials is going away in 3 months, and you can't really get it back easily because the sim can't Planar Bind it like that again. Eventually, your sim is tapped on 5th level slots, and higher slots, if you're keeping the second Celestial around. Yours? Sure, you can maintain that one okay.
 

It is very unlikely that an army will form with many creatures against him.
I can even say, that he can easily govern exercises for his Leadership (Inspire Leadership feat, Who doesn't love it?) and power of destruction.

The guys whose wives and children your just killed because their town was in the direct line between you and the last guy who scried at you (which will become daily occurrence as powers will try to gather information on the rampaging HUN-HAT).
 

Zio_the_dark

The dark one :)
Epic
By my count before creating any spell slots, your sorcerer is down all 1st and 2nd level spell slots (regaining 10 sorcery points), 1 4th an 1 5th level slot (death ward and seeming), his 7th level (aid), his 9th level (wish) and he has 19 sorcery points left.
It's morning just after the long rest...
 

Hohige

Explorer
Okay, then, so the Sorcerer doesn't have a 9th level slot, an 8th level slot, and is down 1 5th level slot. We'll ignore that one because you're going to spend your time short resting often and get that back. Oh, wait, that's another "DM pwease help me" because rests aren't automatic, and the DM can, by the rules, set limits on how often you can benefit from a rest.

The Sims did cast stuff, though -- your Primary Sim is out the spells needed to summon the celestial (5th level slot) and upcasted planar binding (180 days, right?) so the Sim is out a 9th (not copied) and now an 8th and a 5th, which he cannot regain, even through sorcery points (if you're going to be a stickler about the specifics of the rule, it does say spell slots and doesn't make an exception for font of magic -- although technically the amount of spell point is part of an ability, which is it barred from ever increasing).

You have a 20th level spellcaster and his Sim that can't cast spells over 7th level, very interesting. Also, one of your Celestials is going away in 3 months, and you can't really get it back easily because the sim can't Planar Bind it like that again. Eventually, your sim is tapped on 5th level slots, and higher slots, if you're keeping the second Celestial around. Yours? Sure, you can maintain that one okay.

It is not because you use an effect totally dependent on DM fiat that everything is now DM fiat. Haha ha
 


prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
Everything has a Check against a DC or creature's insight. 30 is nearly impossible, as you see in the player's book.
Actually, any time the DM calls for a check, that's DM Fiat. Likewise, anytime the DM sets a DC.

All the prep your sorcerer has done: That's DM Fiat (especially as you perpetually refuse to allow any other character anything like that much prep). I'd say that's more of a DM fiat than the poster above who had his cleric use Divine Intervention to replicate a cleric spell (plane shift, since the guidance for the class ability specifically says any cleric spell is appropriate.

You want a real 1 v 1 fight? Start the characters with no spells up. Put them in a cage, just the two of them--no minions no allies. I'd strongly recommend banning wish and simulacrum in this circumstance--and I'd be willing to allow the sorcerer to take a replacement spell for it. Heck, if I were feeling nice, I'd allow you to have the hit points back instead of the magen. If we wanted to be rigorous, we should run it a few times.

But that's not what you want. You want something else. You want to use your sorcerer to out-wizard wizards, and ... that is at least not playing to the sorcerer's strengths--and it's very much playing to the wizards'. Your sorcerer is setting up a checkerboard while the wizards are playing Go.

That. That is why we are all laughing at you.
 



Hohige

Explorer
That. That is why we are all laughing at you.

AHhahahahahaha I'm finding it funny. Because I simply said that Wish and Divine Intervention are clear as water DM fiat effect. Now, the argument about everything is "DM fiat". I'm laughing at this. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
 

He rarely uses high level spells slots. Your Celestials and minions are enough to deal a lot of damage.
When he gets back from his demiplane, he has expanded his 9th level spell (Wishing a Planeshift), his 8th level spell (to upcast Aid as stipulated by you in post #1

Final HP: 180 + 35 (Extended 8th Aid Spell ) + 24 (Inspire Leadership)
Aid increase your real HP (It isn't Temporary HP), So Aid and Inspire Leadership stacks.

So he has 2+35 HP (for 8 hours) + 24 temporary HP (Inspire Leadership).
It regenerates sorcery points each short rest, so it can convert SP into spells slots.
So, it can extend in combat for a long time, several times a day.

He can't recreate spell slots above level 5. So, his only high level remaining possibility are a 2 6-slots and 2 7th level slots.
 

Hohige

Explorer
When he gets back from his demiplane, he has expanded his 9th level spell (Wishing a Planeshift), his 8th level spell (to upcast Aid as stipulated by you in post #1



So he has 2+35 HP (for 8 hours) + 24 temporary HP (Inspire Leadership).


He can't recreate spell slots above level 5. So, his only high level remaining possibility are a 2 6-slots and 2 7th level slots.
2 level 6, 1 level 7 and 1 8th.
 

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
AHhahahahahaha I'm finding it funny. Because I simply said that Wish and Divine Intervention are clear as water DM fiat effect. Now, the argument about everything is "DM fiat". I'm laughing at this. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Using Divine Intervention to replicate a cleric spell is specifically how the rules say to treat it. Following the rules isn't DM Fiat.
 



Hohige

Explorer
Using Divine Intervention to replicate a cleric spell is specifically how the rules say to treat it. Following the rules isn't DM Fiat.


Divine Intervention

Beginning at 10th level, you can call on your deity to intervene on your behalf when your need is great.

Imploring your deity's aid requires you to use your action. Describe the assistance you seek, and roll percentile dice. If you roll a number equal to or lower than your Cleric level, your deity intervenes. The DM chooses the Nature of the intervention; the Effect of any Cleric spell or Cleric domain spell would be appropriate. If your deity intervenes, you can't use this feature again for 7 days. Otherwise, you can use it again after you finish a Long Rest.

At 20th level, your call for intervention succeeds automatically, no roll


I'm probaly wrong. It isn't DM fiat. :ROFLMAO:
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top