D&D 5E 5E Spells Per Day

Jiggawatts

Adventurer
I know it is unlikely that the spells per day table for mages, clerics, and druids will change at the point, but I'm not a fan of them, and here is why. The reasons are twofold, firstly, and honestly, is because I have been playing since 2E I am preconditioned to think that high level spellcasters should have more than they have. But secondly, and this is actually my major issue here, it seems to be a haphazard list that doesn't really follow any kind of pattern. Though I do agree that casters should probably have less spells per day than they have had in previous editions, I just think they went too far in the other direction. I would like to see something like this at 20th level:

1st: 4, 2nd: 4, 3rd: 4, 4th: 3, 5th: 3, 6th: 3, 7th: 2, 8th: 2, 9th: 2

This follows a "3 tiers of magic" pattern. Lowest tier gets 4 casting per day, middle tier gets 3, and upper tier gets 2.

Alternately if they wanted to keep the premise that 9th level spells are the closest a mortal can get to ULTIMATE COSMIC POWER(TM), and therefore a caster should only get a single casting per day, which I admit does seem flavorful, that would be cool too.

1st: 4, 2nd: 4, 3rd: 4, 4th: 3, 5th: 3, 6th: 3, 7th: 2, 8th: 2, 9th: 1

That is almost the exact same list, just removing one 9th level spell per day. This also follows a set pattern, there is 1 spell level that gets 1 spell per day, 2 spells levels that get 2, 3 spell levels that get 3, with 4 as the baseline.

Overall I really like a lot of what 5E has going on, and am looking forward to delving into it, but these spells per day tables have been nagging me.

Last edited: