D&D General A paladin just joined the group. I'm a necromancer.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes you can. RAW is only that which IS written. Literally anything and everything outside of that isn't RAW.

Isnt it written in the PHB and DMG that situations will arise for which there is no RAW, and in those cases the DM has to make a call at that point how to deal with the situation?

If there is no RAW on changing a PCs alignment, then that rule applies and I can change it. By the above RAW.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thank you. So if the rules are Silent about a DM being able to allow players to frequently summon undead while still being good then he can do it by RAW?
The rules aren't silent about that, though. If you frequently summon undead, by RAW you are evil since RAW states that ONLY EVIL casters use such spells frequently.
 

Isnt it written in the PHB an DMG that situations will arise for which there is no RAW, and the DM has to make a call at that point how to deal with the situation?

Sure, but those are then house rules or home brew, not RAW. Telling the DM that he has to step outside of RAW does not make those decisions RAW.
 

The rules aren't silent about that, though. If you frequently summon undead, by RAW you are evil since RAW states that ONLY EVIL casters use such spells frequently.

Weird how I can be good alignment and animate dead to my hearts content then.... As I said earlier it's an invalid rule because I can create a character that directly contradicts it.
 






Weird how I can be good alignment and animate dead to my hearts content then.... As I said earlier it's an invalid rule because I can create a character that directly contradicts it.
You can't, though. All you can do is keep an alignment written on your sheet. If the entire game world(gods and demons included) views you as evil, your PC is evil. Evil and good are objective things in D&D. What you end up with is an evil PC that has good written on his sheet.

As an example, if you played a PC necromancer in my game that had LG written on his sheet and you were casting animate dead daily, and then tried to read a Book of Exalted deeds, the damage would be 24d6 radiant. I'm not required to go by what you have written down. The PCs deeds(and that rule) are enough for me to trigger or not an item like the book.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top