D&D 5E A running list of questions from a new player/new DM. Other n00bs please feel free to add in.

painted_klown

First Post
Hello everyone,

If you have seen my posts in other threads, you have probably realized that I am loaded up with a lot of questions. If you're not familiar with any of my posts, I will do a quick introduction.

I am new to tabletop RPGs, but have played some older video game RPGs in the past. Dragon Warrior, Final Fantasy 1 & 2, Lunar, the silver story saga, etc. I am also a former Magic:the Gathering player, so the ideas and concepts (fantasy elements) found in D&D aren't totally foreign to me, and have a strong appeal.

My friends have been talking about wanting to put together a D&D game, and I kind of jumped on the idea and got serious about it. I started reading this forum, and learning a bit about the history of the game, and since my friends felt that I suddenly knew more about D&D than anyone else in the group, I was asked to be the DM. To be 100% honest, I actually wanted to be the DM, so I am more than happy to accept the role.

My plan is to start the group off with the starter box. Although I have yet to purchase it, I plan to get it soon, and go over everything before our first gaming session. In the meantime, I have been reading this forum, and (kind of) going over the free PDF files that WOTC provides on their web site.

All of this, of course, raises a lot of questions for me. I felt rather than start a new thread for every little question I have, or hijack other threads for my questions, I would start a thread dedicated to "n00b" questions that pop up, or things I feel I would like clarification with.