calypso15 said:
If you were going to make a staff that would allow the bearer to add charges to it, without knowing the requisite spells, what would you do?
Calypso
I suspect that this will sound like heresy to most people. It totally 'unbalances' the game mechanics, but I don't think that they're very well balanced anyway. Here's how I do staves:
I give them a +# rating (as is done with swords and other weapons). Those + can translate into a magical weapon bonus, or a level of spells. For each level of spells, the staff holds one spell of that level. For example, a +4 staff could be a +1 weapon, and hold a spell of level one, two and three. Alternatively, you could take larger number of lower level spells (in the example above you could hold three level one and a level three).
Now for the really terrifying part: the staff has a number of charges equal to ten times the spell level. Each spell uses it's level in charges, and the staff recharges its spell level every day. Using the example, that staff would gain three charges a day.
I have used this rule in an epic style (not dungeon crawl style) campaign and it has posed no problems to me yet. At the same time, my style of DMing is to kill or save characters occaisonally by fiat for dramatic purposes, so the rules serve the story, not the other way around.
I have just introduced a staff of this type into my dungeon crawl style campaign, so we'll see how unbalanced it gets there.
The point of this is that it's a staff! A staff is supposed to be an awesome thing, at least according to all the stories and lore. I think that they really messed up the way that they did staves in the rules, and I wanted them to be something really awesome. That's why I introduced this house rule.