Absorbption & Spell Turning active, what happens...

Dwarmaj

First Post
If a PC has a Ring of Spell Turning and a Rod of Absorption, what happens when they are hit with a spell?

Does it matter if it's a damaging spell or a affect spell?

Say the PC has 4 levels they can absorb and 4 levels they can turn. If they are hit by Flesh to Stone (6th level spell), can absorb 4 levels then turn the remaining 2? Could they turn 4 levels of the spell and absorb to remaining 2?

Would only one of the items function at a time?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hm... I don't think there is any rule, but I'd say the rod would take precedence for a few reasons. First, having spell turning would make a rod of absorption pretty useless (wait, lemme take off the ring). Next, an argument could be made that the target changes from the character to the rod by absorbing a spell, so spell turning doesn't kick into effect.

That's how I'd do it. I think the only way to get an official answer (and not just random opinions like mine) would be to e-mail the sage or another game designer.

Later.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top