Adv: A Night at the Opera; Judge TwoHeadsBarking

[sblock=OOC]
In the Player's Handbook, Under Opportunity attack it says "An opportunity attack takes place before a target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes it's action."

That says to me that the Cobra get's to finish what it was doing. In this instance the move action. It should not need an additional move action.

Unless I am missing something else.
That interpretation essentially makes the fighter "unsticky" which is their entire purpose. Their Combat Superiority is the exception to the rule: "An enemy struck by your opportunity attack stops moving, if a move provoked the attack. If it still has actions remaining, it can use them to resume moving." Yes, normally the cobra could keep going. But not when a fighter smacks it.[/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Combat Challenge vs Goblin Skirmisher

Feeling the constructs assault him again, the fire flares around Incarnation. Ignoring the goblin, confident in his stalwart defender, he speaks one word strongly: Burn. Fire bursts all around the constructs and the newcomer, followed up a weaker bolt of flame. The goblin ducks, and wriggles it's body sharply, trying to avoid damage but it's harldy effective.

This time, the warlock cannot fight off the mental distraction.

[sblock=OOC]Free: ID the 'goblin': 19.

Standard: Fiery Bolt

OA from Goblin. 23 vs AC. Hit. 5 damage.

Attack: Ref 21, 20 fire, 14 fire to the cobras. The goblin Artifice uses Lead from the rear to trade damage with Cobra 1.

Spend AP to burn it again with Hellish Rebuke vs the newcomer: Ref 12, 8 fire and 1d6+6 more if Incarnation takes damage before the start of his next turn. Miss. Goblin Artifice uses Lead from the Rear again, though it proves unnecessary. Save fails.[/sblock]

[sblock=Incarnation]He would appear to be some kind of artificer, who has made upgrades directly to his person. It's not something you've seen or know much about, but you've heard/read that it's possible.[/sblock]

When the Skirmisher attempts to attack Incarnation during his blast, Dane interupts the marked goblin's attack and bring him down before he can do further harm to the warforge.

[sblock=Combat Challenge] Immediate Interrupt: Reckless Waraxe vs AC (1d20+9, 1d12+9=[19, 9], [12, 9]) 28 AC for 21 pod.
That should kill the goblin before he gets his OA against Incarnation when he did. Sorry you are going to have to recont a bunch of stuff. Also with regards to the Combat Superiority, if a Fighter strikes with an OA, the target stops moving any further. The target can use another move action to continue, but the Cobra wouldn't be able to attack Incarnation.

I will post my next round actions once this has been resolved.
[/sblock]
 

[sblock=Nebten/SR]I think Scorpius already used Dane's Combat Challenge. Its later on in the round (when the Skirmisher normally attacks). As Dane only gets one Immediate Interrupt per turn and he had already gone by the time the enemies & Incarnation act, Dane has the choice of using the CC when the mark attacks due to Incarnation's ranged attack or when it attacks later. So only one CC per round.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=ooc] Ah yes, that's what I was forgetting, Combat Superiority.

Also, the Goblin Artifice makes the blast attack from away, then moves forward. The skirmisher later attacks and you use you're Combat Challenge then. It's all factored in. . . which stonegod seems to have said.

Anything else? It's an awefully big post.[/sblock]

RETCON!

A quick shift of his fingers issues a silent command, and the snakes move forward. One charges Dane, sinking his teeth into the Dwarf, just getting past his defenses. The dwarf can feel poison seep into his veins. That doesn't stop him from swiping at the other slithering construct as it tries to move by him. He hits the snake hard, stopping it temporarily before moving on.

. . .

The goblin skirmisher strikes at the failing forge with his spear. Dane try's to intercept, seeing an opening. Though he cuts the goblin within an inch of his life, the goblin still manages to land the blow. Incarnation hangs on by a thread.

"Delicious."

[sblock=ooc]Goblin Artifice attacks, using a burst 2 centered on H12. 14 vs Dane's AC. Miss.

19 vs Incarnation's AC. Hit. 20 damage.

Cobra 1 charges Dane, moving to H10. 19 hit. 4 damage and 5 ongoing poison (save ends)

Cobra 2 moves to I12. OA from Dane. 25 vs AC. Hit. 15 damage.

Cobra 2 Finishes his move.

Goblin Artifice moves to I10. Artifice uses AP to attack again. Close burst 3.
Vs Dane's AC. 12. Nat 1. Miss.
Vs Incarnation's AC. 17. Hit. 12 damage. Incarnation's Rod and Gauntlet's are considered rusting.

Goblin Skirmisher attacks Incarnation. Dane attacks as an immediate interrupt.
17 vs AC. Hit. 10 damage.

Attack vs Incarnation. 18 vs Ac. Hit. 6 damage (link says 7 but its wrong). This puts Incarnation at 1 hp.[/sblock]

--------------------------------------

Round 5

24 - Enemies - Acted
Purple Apparition - @H9 - 14/37 - Bloodied
Red Apparition 1 - @J7 - 11/37 - Marked, Bloodied
Red Apparition 2 - @H6 - 4/37 - Marked, Bloodied
White Apparition 6 - @N6
Goblin Skirmisher - @H12 - 1/29 - Bloodied, Marked
Goblin Skirmisher2 - @J5
Iron Defender 1 - @O14 - -14 hp
Iron Defender 2 - @K6 - 11/47 - Quarry, Bloodied
Iron Cobra 1 - @H10 - -14hp
Iron Cobra 2 - @I14 - -29hp
Goblin Artifice - @I10 - -14 hp 17 - Qynn - @H6 - 11/29 - Bloodied
15 - Dane - @H11 - 21/42hp - Granting Combat Advantage, Bloodied, 5 Ongoing Poison (save ends)
13 - Sheng - @H7 - 14/26 +2 thp -
8 - Hadrak - @H8 - 20/42 - +2 to Defenses TENT, Bloodied, Slowed (save ends)
6 - Rurdev - @J6 - 2/41 - Bloodied
2 - Incarnation - @H11 - 1/42 - Dazed and slowed (save ends both), Bloodied
Essam - @O15 - -6hp

Stats

White: AC 15, R 14
Red: AC 16, R 15, W 15
Purple: R 15
Goblin Skirmisher: AC 15
Iron Defender: AC 19
Iron Cobra: AC 20
Goblin Creepy Guy: R 18

Note on the Map.

The door between G:11 and H:11 is closed. The other three doors in the hallway are open. Also, please note, each door has a little handle. I did this on purpose when I made the map and forgot all about it. The door opens in the direction that the handle is on. The hinge is opposite the handle. This is why Dane provoked an OA when closing the door.

[sblock=Map 1st Floor]
Map1st28.png
[/sblock]

[sblock=Map 2nd Floor]
MapB28.png
[/sblock][/QUOTE]
 

[sblock=Stonegod/SR] Thank you Stonegod, but I am aware of the situation. And Dane wants to use his CC at the point I presented, on your turn. The goblin's OA is an attack that doesn't include me, so my CC goes off then. That way the goblin skirmisher is dead and Incarnation doesn't have to take any more damage then he has too. After all, its the difference with Incarnation at 8 hps and we are 2 vs 3, or you at -3 and it 1 vs 4 :)

Also, I only grant combat advantage to the now dead goblin skirmisher.
[/sblock]
 

[sblock=ooc]Nebten, I think you need to explain this in another way then.

When the Goblin Skirmisher, @H12, attacked Incarnation you did use you're Combat Challenge. I did it for you as part of my post. You did 10 damage, brought him down to 1 hp, and he finished his attack.

You're OA, and his attack, is the very last part of my post, besides the status list, in both the original post and the Retcon.

Now, if you want to do something in addition to that, I don't understand what is triggering it.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=OOC] Please refer to quoted section above for what I'm talking about.

On Incarn's turn, he does his ranged attack, triggering an opportunity attack from the goblin. The goblin takes an attack at Incarnation, which does not include Dane. This triggers Dane's CC as an immediate interupt. I want him to attack now, not later. Dane strikes and kills the goblin. Goblin is dead, he can't complete his OA or any future actions. Rest of turns play out.

This is why Dane told Incarnation to go ahead and fire. Incarn was either going to get a free shot, or if the goblin provoked an OA, Dane would get a free shot at the goblin hopefully killing him in the process.

Another way: Incarn's turn: (Incarn's Fiery bolt -> Goblin OA -> Dane's CC-> Dane kills goblin-> Incarn finishes turn )-> Essme's turn with actions -> Enemies' turn with actions. [/sblock]
 

-''Sheng, give me room already!''

[sblock=OOC]Looking at the spread of damage we have inflicted on our enemies... we have been god awful at focusing fire!

Sheng, do whatever you gotta do, but stop boxing me in!
[/sblock]
 

[sblock=OOC]Nebten: Dane only gets one Combat Challenge (CC) per round, which SC already rolled. Here is the steps:

Dane's turn (Immediate Reactions Recharge)
Incarnation's turn (Provokes OA, Goblin Attacks)
Goblin's Turn (Attacks, Dane uses CC [an Immediate Reaction, which can be done once a round])

Now, that being said, Nebten's roll for Dane for damage (if he used the CC earlier) was much better than SC's (21 vs 10) which would have dropped the skirmisher.

That also being said, the liveliness of the skirmisher won't change Incarnation's action this round (though it may help him later).

Mal: The plan was to focus fire from the rear, but then this happened. :eek:[/sblock]In mere seconds, Incarnation was once again on the brink of fading. He could still here the battle above, knowing it was not going well up there as well. He gathered himself, drawing power from his connections that kept him here. The fires give him some strength and protection, but they would not last. But it still was not enough to fight the assault on his mind.[sblock=Actions]Second Wind. Failed save again.[/sblock][sblock=Incarnation (dazed, slowed, Second Wind)]Incarnation—Male Warforged Infernal Warlock 3
Initiative: +1, Passive Perception: 15, Passive Insight: 10
AC: 17, Fort: 18, Reflex: 16, Will: 16 — Speed: 6
HP: 23+6/42, Bloodied: 21, Surge: 10, Surges left: 9/11
+2 save vs. ongoing damage
Action Points: 0, Second Wind: Used
Powers -
Eldritch Blast
Hellish Rebuke

Fiery Bolt
Vampiric Embrace

Flames of Phlegethos
Warforged Resilience
Burning Gauntlets
Full character sheet[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

[sblock=OOC]
Stonegod, I run my character, not anybody else unless there needs to be! Here's the set up, with your example.

Dane's turn (Immediate Reactions Recharge)
Incarnation's turn (Provokes OA, Goblin Attacks, Dane's CC goes off, kills goblin)
Goblin doesn't have turn because he's dead

If its a point of damage, Dane does 1d12+9 pod with his Reckless War Axe. That is a free action to activate . He gets +2 dmg and -2 to AC. So Dane does 12 pod, dead goblin. Just because Scorp accounted for it later on doesn't mean that's what I wanted.
Otherwise Stonegod, please stay out of the discussion.[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top