You are trying to argue that a person who flies in round 1, and then stops, crashes only by means of the application of the fly rules. This happens in round 2, a significant time after the flight ended.
To make this happen, you are applying the fly rules to a creature without flying. You're applying it to a creature that DID have flying, some time ago, but which hasn't got it anymore.
Ok.
Now what if the fly rules that creature operates under grant hover?
Well, at the end of the flight power, we apply the hovering flight rules. It doesn't fall. Next round, we apply the hovering flight rules. It continues not to fall. In fact, at no point will the hovering flight rules cause it to fall.
For your argument to make sense, you have to argue that a non flying creature in mid air who got there due to a power that granted hovering flight which has since expired IS subject to the rules for flying even though it cannot fly anymore since flying is how it got into the air, but IS NOT subject to the rules for hovering flight under precisely the same circumstances.
There is no reason at all to make that distinction.
If you are going to mechanistically apply the flying rules to a formerly flying creature and only cause it to crash when the fly rules say it should crash, then that's what you should do.
In this case the fly rules don't say that the creature crashes, because its governed by the "hovering" flight rules.
I agree that its silly to apply the hovering flight rules to a creature who no longer possesses hovering flight.
But its no less silly than applying the regular flight rules to a creature who no longer possesses regular flight.
If the general principle of "reference the rules for falling that are built into the power that got you into the air" are to be used, then we should actually use them. It just so happens that doing so breaks the game.