Armed attacks with weapons & claws

Oryan77

Adventurer
I can't find anything that says a monster that has 2 claws & 1 bite attack and is a lvl 6 fighter that fights with a weapon in his main hand doesn't get 4 attacks (2 with weapon, 1 with off-hand claw, & 1 with bite). But I've been told before that the 2nd weapon attack for the 6lvl BAB doesn't apply when he fights with his off-hand claw attack & bite. I've also heard mention about primary & secondary attacks but I've never seen these described before.

Where in the manuals does it describe this in detail? Can anyone point me in the right direction?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SRD: http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#manufacturedWeapons
Manufactured Weapons

Some monsters employ manufactured weapons when they attack. Creatures that use swords, bows, spears, and the like follow the same rules as characters, including those for additional attacks from a high base attack bonus and two-weapon fighting penalties. This category also includes “found items,” such as rocks and logs, that a creature wields in combat— in essence, any weapon that is not intrinsic to the creature.

Some creatures combine attacks with natural and manufactured weapons when they make a full attack. When they do so, the manufactured weapon attack is considered the primary attack unless the creature’s description indicates otherwise and any natural weapons the creature also uses are considered secondary natural attacks. These secondary attacks do not interfere with the primary attack as attacking with an off-hand weapon does, but they take the usual -5 penalty (or -2 with the Multiattack feat) for such attacks, even if the natural weapon used is normally the creature’s primary natural weapon.
In your example I see no reason why the fighter wouldn't get 4 attacks.
 

Iku Rex said:
SRD: http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#manufacturedWeapons
In your example I see no reason why the fighter wouldn't get 4 attacks.
Hmm, it looks fine to me from that description. I was actually told that a 4-armed Sahuagin 6th lvl Fighter wielding a weapon in 1 hand doesn't get 2 swings with that weapon (giving it 2 weapon attacks, 3 claw attacks, 1 bite attack, & 2 rakes all in the same round).

Maybe I misunderstood, but I can't figure out why a mutant Sahuagin wouldn't get a total of 8 attacks in 1 round.
 

Oryan77 said:
Maybe I misunderstood, but I can't figure out why a mutant Sahuagin wouldn't get a total of 8 attacks in 1 round.
Because the DM is being nice and using up a move action each round doing something besides kill the party.
As long as the mutant Sahuagin has a full round action to spend on attacking, he gets at least 6 attacks, 8 if he's swimming.
 

Oryan77 said:
Maybe I misunderstood, but I can't figure out why a mutant Sahuagin wouldn't get a total of 8 attacks in 1 round.
Me neither. Probably because it does get 8 attacks in 1 round. :)

For an example, see the troll hunter from the MM/SRD:
2 claws +16 melee (1d6+7) and bite +11 melee (1d6+3); or +1 battleaxe +17/+12 melee (2d6+8/×3) and claw +12 melee (1d6+3) and bite +12 melee (1d6+3); or javelin +10 ranged (1d8+7)
 

Remove ads

Top