D&D 5E (2024) Artificer: Spell Storing Item?


log in or register to remove this ad

Can you elaborate on the extra dice for levels 3 6 9?
3rd, 6th and 9th level spell are at new tier of play and give more power bump than other spell level, so scaling should be little extra also.

IE: cure wounds

1st level: 2d8
2nd level: 4d8
3rd level: 7d8
4th level: 9d8
5th level: 11d8
6th level: 14d8
7th level: 16d8
8th level: 18d8
9th level: 21d8
 


When you cast a spell from an item, it is always cast at its regular level unless specified otherwise.
That rule does not necessarily apply here.
If the artificer decides to use a level 3 version, it is specified otherwise.
Or it's just a poor design choice that makes an Artificer's strength highly dependent on whether or not their subclass gets a strong 3rd-level spell.
Maybe. Bur I think I use the DM advice that tells you to read the rules in the more favorable way.
 

That rule does not necessarily apply here.

Maybe. Bur I think I use the DM advice that tells you to read the rules in the more favorable way.
General rules always apply unless there is a specific rule that says differently for that circumstance. Here, there is none.

That's terrible DM advice, by the way—not just because it encourages players to invent favourable interpretations, but it also makes excuses for issues in the writing of the rules and the balance of the game.
 

3rd, 6th and 9th level spell are at new tier of play and give more power bump than other spell level, so scaling should be little extra also.

IE: cure wounds

1st level: 2d8
2nd level: 4d8
3rd level: 7d8
4th level: 9d8
5th level: 11d8
6th level: 14d8
7th level: 16d8
8th level: 18d8
9th level: 21d8

Ah.

I make it auto scale with character level.

For cure wounds (a level 1 spell)
Lvl1 character:
1st level: 2d8
2nd level: 4d8

Level 5 character:

1st level: 3d8
2nd level: 5d8
3rd level: 7d8
4th level: 9d8
5th level: 11d8

Lvl 11 character:

1st level: 4d8
2nd level: 6d8
3rd level: 8d8
4th level: 10d8
5th level: 12d8
6th level: 14d8
7th level: 16d8
8th level: 18d8

Lvl 17 character:
1st level: 5d8
2nd level: 7d8
3rd level: 9d8
4th level: 11d8
5th level: 13d8
6th level: 15d8
7th level: 17d8
8th level: 19d8
9th level: 21d8

So auto scaling like cantrips.

For a 3rd level spell like fireball it is:

Level 5 character:

3rd level: 8d6
4th level: 10d6
5th level: 12d6

Lvl 11 character:

3rd level: 9d6
4th level: 11d6
5th level: 13d6
6th level: 15d6
7th level: 17d8
8th level: 19d8


Lvl 17 character:

3rd level: 10d6
4th level: 12d6
5th level: 14d6
6th level: 16d6
7th level: 18d6
8th level: 20d6
9th level: 22d6
 

Fairly self explanatory. Level 1-3 spell cast X2 your int modifier.

Can a level 2 or 3 spell just be an upcast lower level one? Eg lvl 3 cure 6d8+int?

I'm reading it as yes.
I'd love for that to be the case. If we could, then the same rationale could also be used with Mystic Arcanum. Sadly, however, the devs stated that, no, you can't have an upcast level 6th spell as your level 7 Arcanum.

So, I'm going to have to say that the intent is very much no, you can't. Its stupid and it sucks and I would love to see it houseruled differently, and if I was running a game and someone asked me if she could, I would say yes. But I think that RAW and RAW the answer is no.
 

I'd love for that to be the case. If we could, then the same rationale could also be used with Mystic Arcanum. Sadly, however, the devs stated that, no, you can't have an upcast level 6th spell as your level 7 Arcanum.

So, I'm going to have to say that the intent is very much no, you can't. Its stupid and it sucks and I would love to see it houseruled differently, and if I was running a game and someone asked me if she could, I would say yes. But I think that RAW and RAW the answer is no.

Very mixed responses.

RAW it seems to be a yes though as an upcast spell is aspell of that level.

As mentioned earlier.

Reread the rules.

Cure wounds is an artificer spell. Infused item qualifier.

Upcasting it makes it a level 3 spell.

RAW you can stick it in an item it seems.
 
Last edited:

IMO, RAW says choose a level 1, 2, or 3 spell and get extra castings of it. Free castings of a spell are at their base level, unless stated otherwise.

If I were your DM, I'd allow you to choose a level 1 or 2 spell upcast to 3, if only to broaden the spells that are good with the feature. Treantmonk didn't like how few 3rd level spells were spammable, and thus optimal for the feature. Being able to at least stick an up cast cure wounds in it would be great. I'd rather someone do that than have their homonculus fire off 10 fireballs a day.
 

IMO, RAW says choose a level 1, 2, or 3 spell and get extra castings of it. Free castings of a spell are at their base level, unless stated otherwise.

If I were your DM, I'd allow you to choose a level 1 or 2 spell upcast to 3, if only to broaden the spells that are good with the feature. Treantmonk didn't like how few 3rd level spells were spammable, and thus optimal for the feature. Being able to at least stick an up cast cure wounds in it would be great. I'd rather someone do that than have their homonculus fire off 10 fireballs a day.

Yeah he rated a lot of the subclasses based on their spell lists at 11.
 

Remove ads

Top