Baleful Polymorph + Dominate

calypso15

Explorer
So... is this combination considered cheesy rules lawyery, or is it just a clever use of spells?

(I'm asking, in particular, about using Baleful Polymorph to turn something with a high will save into a mouse, which has a horrible will save, then cast dominate/charm/suggestion/whatever on it, then dispel your polymorph).

Calypso
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, if you've successfully Baelful Polymorphed them, then they are already pretty much defeated....

I suppose it's mostly only useful if you plan on making an ally - temporary, at that - that you couldn't get with a straight will save. But, as I understand it, technically valid.
 

"It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points)."

So the only way its Will save will decrease is if a high Wisdom is replaced with a low Wisdom in the new form... and that only happens if it fails a Will save.

So, in order to reduce its Will save, you're casting a spell that allows a Will save.

It's why Mind Fog's not much use to improve your chances of getting a single spell to work. If the Mind Fog works, it means you're up against a creature that fails its Will save against your spells... which means you don't need Mind Fog to make it easier to cast Will save spells. On the other hand, if the creature's Will save is good enough to beat the DC of the other spell, it's probably good enough to beat Mind Fog, too.

(Mind Fog comes into its own against large numbers of opponents who have, say, a 50/50 chance of beating the DC, followed by multiple Will-save spells.)


Oops... forgot the recent errata :)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top