Baleful Utterance & Readied Actions


log in or register to remove this ad


I said it was stilled because all spell-like abilities have no somatic components. However, I was once again wrong, :( because warlocks specifically have somatic components to their invocations. (It is an exception listed under the invocation class feature description.) Weird.

(This still doesn't explain whether or not monsters with charming spell-like abilities or invisible warlocks give their targets +5 to their saves against being charmed, since the target shouldn't even know what was happening.)
 


evilbob said:
I was going to say "yes and yes," but in double-checking my response, I discovered I am wrong. :)

A warlock's invocations "are spell-like abilies" - this is clearly stated in the class description.
So there you go: this invocation does work just like the spell, but has no verbal component and can be used when silenced.
i don't think that's correct. IIRC, somewhere in the warlock's class description (or the errata) it says that although invocations are a type of spell-like abilities they do require components.
I'll have to look it up when at home, though :)
 

Jhaelen said:
i don't think that's correct. IIRC, somewhere in the warlock's class description (or the errata) it says that although invocations are a type of spell-like abilities they do require components.
I'll have to look it up when at home, though :)
They require somatic components only (see the class description in CompArc).
 

The only thing mentioned in the class feature is that they incur arcane failure chance from wearing armor, "as described under Weapon and Armor Proficiency." Which means, in a very indirect way, it tells you that you have to look in another section to discover the somatic bit - but it doesn't mention any others.

I'm guessing the point is for balance; they didn't want fighters in full-plate casting invocations. But otherwise I have to think the other rules about spell-like abilities are true (i.e. no verbal).
 

Jhaelen said:
IIRC, somewhere in the warlock's class description (or the errata) it says that although invocations are a type of spell-like abilities they do require components.
I'll have to look it up when at home, though :)

I do not see anything mentioned in the FAQ, errata, nor Complete Arcane. Let me know if you find anything though.
 



Remove ads

Top