Thanee
First Post
satori01 said:Logically again it follows that, assuming a strict interpretation of the rules:
A) You can use Extra Spell to learn a spell not on your class spell
List.
You can learn an additional spell. Warmages cannot learn spells. Thus, no benefit for them.
B) Under most circumstances knowing a spell, is not sufficient to
Cast it; the spell must also appear on your class spell list.
Not most. All.
C) The Warmage, Beguiler, and Dread Necromancer cast spells
Like a sorcerer, and know all of the spells on their class spell
list. The above 3 classes can also add new spells to their their
spells know and to their class spell list via the Advanced
Learning feature.
Wrong! They add spells to their spell list. They don't have a seperate spells known list.
D) The Warmage and Beguiler both have a specific line that says
Essentially, their spells known and class spell list are
analagous.
Yeah, so?
Even if it was possible to add a spell to their spells known list and not also to their class spell list, then this rule would be broken, so it cannot happen, because then the two lists would not be the same.
Without changing the class spell list, this simply cannot work.
Without going into syntaxatical discussion of the true meaning of what " Essentially" means in the quoted line, I think the logic is decent.
Not anymore, once you look at the whole picture, though.
And that 'essentially' is quite important, much like the 'generally' in Extra Spell. You cannot just drop that, and only take the rest.
What it also shows to me, is this in not a question that can be solved by a strict inteperatation of the Rules As Written. The Rules as Written here blow.
Now that's right.

The easiest solution is of course to rewrite the Extra spell feat, and not all the pre exsisting rules.
And then what? Can wizards then simply learn cleric spells?
Why is it better to rewrite EVERY rule coming after the flawed rule, instead of only changing the flawed rule ONCE?
Bye
Thanee