Buckler Question

Gnimish88

First Post
From the SRD:

"Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you don’t get the buckler’s AC bonus for the rest of the round.
You can’t bash someone with a buckler."

Does the second to the last sentence mean you don't get the AC bonus from the buckler in the same round you use a bow or crossbow?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Gnimish88 said:
Does the second to the last sentence mean you don't get the AC bonus from the buckler in the same round you use a bow or crossbow?
Unless you are using a crossbow one-handed yes it does.
 

Gnimish88 said:
Does the second to the last sentence mean you don't get the AC bonus from the buckler in the same round you use a bow or crossbow?

Yes. On a round-by-round basis you choose to either (1) get the AC bonus or (2) use the off-hand weapon or a two-handed weapon.

The decision should also affect AoOs before your next round: if you choose (2) you also won't benefit from the buckler AC bonus vs AoOs, but if you choose (1) and e.g. used a longsword 1-handed you cannot later use it 2-handed to get better Str bonus on a AoOs.
 

Reading it as a whole, I don't think it was meant that way. I think "...use a weapon in you off-hand..." is only referring to "use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon)..."

Of course, it could be read either way.
 

Artoomis said:
I think "...use a weapon in you off-hand..." is only referring to "use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon)..."

I believe you are confusing the words "use" and "wield". Your reading would be correct if the original text had said "if you wield a weapon in your off-hand". Unfortunately, the original text says "if you use a weapon in your off-hand". Wielding a weapon is definetally using it, but using a weapon is not necessarily wielding it. This is specifically important in the case of bows since the SRD specifically states "You need at least two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size", but you do not get any of the associated bonuses for wielding a weapon in two hands when using a bow.
 

No, I was not confusing terms. As I said, I think they meant the restriction to apply to melee weapons only and were inexact in their use of terminology (what a shocker, eh?!?).

I also said it can be read either way.

Deset Gled said:
I believe you are confusing the words "use" and "wield". Your reading would be correct if the original text had said "if you wield a weapon in your off-hand". Unfortunately, the original text says "if you use a weapon in your off-hand". Wielding a weapon is definetally using it, but using a weapon is not necessarily wielding it. This is specifically important in the case of bows since the SRD specifically states "You need at least two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size", but you do not get any of the associated bonuses for wielding a weapon in two hands when using a bow.
 

Sweeeeeet. I've been looking for a passage from 3.5 that contradicts itself, not just another passage elsewhere in the rules.

How funny...

So - no penalty when wearing a buckler on your off hand when using a bow or crossbow - but if you use a weapon with your off hand, you get a -1 to your attack roll, and you don't get the buckler AC bonus...

Now, what if you put the buckler on your non off-hand and attacked with a crossbow? A heavy x-bow? A Light-Xbow? A one-handed XBow?


Thanks, btw. I've never seen a passage that so clearly contradicts itself. No penalty! But you take a -1 to attack and you don't get the AC bonus!

I love DND!
 

How does it contradict itself? The -1 penalty to hit specifically does not apply to bows and crossbows. The loss of the +1 bonus to AC is not a panalty, its a loss of a bonus.
 

James McMurray said:
How does it contradict itself? The -1 penalty to hit specifically does not apply to bows and crossbows. The loss of the +1 bonus to AC is not a panalty, its a loss of a bonus.

Exactly. I was trying to say the same thing, but you said it better (and faster) than I.
 

There is one interesting thing about bucklers:

You don't suffer any penalties from using a magical or masterwork buckler if you don't have the proper shield profeciency.

That is one cool thing. Strap on a buckler +5 and you just gave your rapier weilding rogue a +6 AC, with no penalties on checks or attack rolls.
 

Remove ads

Top