Cast, move, touch

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Except you're wrong, going by the RAW. See my post above for a direct quote from the SRD.

'xactly... it doesn't get much clearer than "In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) the target. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target."

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Sage murks up yet another easily understood ruling. :)

The SRD (and book) is quite clear on this, and we've been playing it that way the whole time. It isn't unbalancing at all. You're still moving in beside an enemy to do the touching, and thus the enemy will have the option of getting a Full Attack on you the next round. All you get is that you don't have to worry about Concentration checks.
 

Liquidsabre said:
What Aaron2 said.

He isn't completely wrong, but he isn't entirely correct, either.

It just turns out that you get one free attack roll (note - attack roll, not "attack action") in the round you cast a touch spell. By the RAW, you can make that roll any time after you cast the spell. When you move (up to your speed) is irrelevant.

If you want to touch someone in the round *after* you cast the spell - because you couldn't reach your target in one move, because you've got multiple touches, etc. - then you'll need to use an Attack or Full Attack action.
 

Cast, move, touch, cast, touch

That you can cast a touch spell AND touch a target (even an unwilling one) in the same round seems pretty clear.

I personally have a problem when a regular touch spell is combined with a quickened touch spell:

Cast Harm, move up to your opponent, touch him, cast Quickened Inflict Moderate Wounds, touch your target again. It's legal by the rules, but it doesn't seem right somehow....
 
Last edited:

Philip said:
Cast Harm, move up to your opponent, touch him, cast Quickened Inflict Moderate Wounds, touch your target again. It's legal by the rules, but it doesn't seem right somehow....

'course, it's not as vicious in 3.5 as it was in 3E, either.

-Hyp.
 

Philip said:
Cast Harm, move up to your opponent, touch him, cast Quickened Inflict Moderate Wounds, touch your target again. It's legal by the rules, but it doesn't seem right somehow....

Why not? You've cast two sixth level spells. The first does anywhere from 110 to 150 points of damage (or 55 to 75, if the target makes his/her/its Will save), but cannot take the character down past 1 to 4 hit points. The second spell inflicts 2d8 points of damage +1 point per caster level (maximum +10), with a Will save for half.

You have to be a minimum 11th level caster, and drop a Metamagic feat into Quicken Spell. It targets a single creature for a lot of damage.

You could, alternately, cast Slay Living - which might kill the target outright on failed save - and Blade Barrier, or Flame Strike, or even two Blade Barriers or Two Flame Strikes and inflict more cumulative damage on more creatures.

Or, as a wizard of between 11th to 15th level, you could cast a Disintegrate spell for 22d6 to 30d6 points of damage on a failed save (average approximately 77 to 105 points of damage at a range of 100 ft. + 10 ft./level) and still have another 2nd level quickened spell of your choice locked and loaded.
 

molonel said:
Why not? You've cast two sixth level spells. The first does anywhere from 110 to 150 points of damage (or 55 to 75, if the target makes his/her/its Will save), but cannot take the character down past 1 to 4 hit points.

1 point (1d4 was 3E, 2E, and 1E...).

And whether that applies on a failed save is hotly debated.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
1 point (1d4 was 3E, 2E, and 1E...).

Aaaaand yet another example of why, having played 3.0 for 3 years, I will never fully grasp 3.5 rules: everything I could ever possibly assume that I knew has changed just a little bit.

Hypersmurf said:
And whether that applies on a failed save is hotly debated.

Either way, it's still not that awful of a spell for a sixth level spell. Powerful, yes, but hardly gamebreaking.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
It just turns out that you get one free attack roll (note - attack roll, not "attack action") in the round you cast a touch spell.

Gotcha, thanks all. Silly sage got me all mucked up gah!
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top