CG vs. LE: Chaotic Good is Victorious!

Mod Q: [sblock]The no-acid made me think: wouldn't 20cc have been caught in an area-effect lightning ball or am I dredging up 1st. Ed. rules on magic used underwater (i.e. it would have been an area effect, not a line)? Consider this my Gygaxian quesion of the day. :)[/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Mods: [sblock] I strenuously object to that ruling. Why would electricity and fire work, but not acid? Also, I'd like to point out that the rust dragon is breathing while in air, which is an important consideration for 'drawing' in the breath. [/sblock]
 

Thought:[sblock]I did think it a bit odd, but that maybe there were specific rules for (pseundo)-elements underwater. In retrospect, if fire can work probably everything should work, no?[/sblock]
 

Infiniti and Ugulu[sblock]Fire would not work underwater, either. I am not sure why you think that fire would work underwater, unless Gansk allowed it. Did Gansk allow a creature to use a fire breath weapon underwater?

I see your point, Infiniti, about the as yet unnamed dragon being above water. The dragon will be able to breathe acid into the water.

The dragon can use breath weapon in round 626.[/sblock]I have a correction to make. A gargantuan dragon appears at 85N35E, breathes a line of acid straight down at 20cc, then shifts to 85N40E. 20cc dodges the acid (34+2=36 Ref save) and takes 28 points of acid damage. 20cc has 71 HP remaining.
 
Last edited:

20cc will try to scramble out of the water and fly to 40n15e30z [sblock] Im a little unsure of swimming rules - is it only a single move to get out of the water? how much flight does he actually have after getting airborne if getting out is more than a move?
I the answers won't change his announced action unless they make it impossible [/sblock]
 

Hmmm...to save on the spoiler blocks...

EH: debate as to whether all/some/no breath weapons work underwater.

I thought I'd seen a fire breath used in recent memory, but didn't bring it up immediately as I thought maybe it got "steam" for damage. Hopefully Gansk can recall the combat (if it happened at all).
 


That's MISTER Rustoleum to you.

He'll flap east and curl around to end at 45n95e heading sw.[sblock]Ready to cast Acid Fog if 20cc gets fully into the the VZ (not upon entry) at 20z or less.[/sblock]
 

OOC: I don't remember allowing any fire breath weapons underwater. Spells are allowed to turn into steam if the caster makes a spellcraft check. I did incorrectly allow a bunch of fog spells to work underwater.

20cc starts round 625.
 

Remove ads

Top