Charging Rules

fnwc

Explorer
So, it seems charging is only really useful now when the target can't make an opportunity attack, since it provokes an OA.

I was reading through the KOTS and noticed that the kobold minion tactics in one encounter was to charge the PCs, which seems a bit silly when you die in one hit.

Unless I'm misinterpreting the rules, it seems as if the surprise round is typically when combatants will charge -- being 'surprised' means you can't take any actions except free actions; otherwise charging seems like a pretty substandard tactic.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

fnwc said:
So, it seems charging is only really useful now when the target can't make an opportunity attack, since it provokes an OA.

I was reading through the KOTS and noticed that the kobold minion tactics in one encounter was to charge the PCs, which seems a bit silly when you die in one hit.

Unless I'm misinterpreting the rules, it seems as if the surprise round is typically when combatants will charge -- being 'surprised' means you can't take any actions except free actions; otherwise charging seems like a pretty substandard tactic.

The act of charging doesn't provoke an OA, however, the movement it uses "could" provoke an OA in the way that any movement can provoke.
 

Unless thery really screwed the system, Charge draws OpAt's as if movement, beacuase it is movement.

If they say Charging: OpAT? = No, the someone will think you can charge through threats without suffering OpAt's
 

Yeah the person being charged does not get an OA but the charger could provoke AOs from other creatures whose threatened squares he charges through.......I think:)
 


mach1.9pants said:
Yeah the person being charged does not get an OA but the charger could provoke AOs from other creatures whose threatened squares he charges through.......I think:)
You think right my friend.
 

It's AoO... I will not conform...

Seriously, wait until 4E has been out a year, my prediction is that people will more than likely continue to refer to OAs as AoOs still. Besides, OA is Oriental Adventures, everyone knows that...
 

Hmmmm... I guess I'm confused because it says, "Charging provokes attacks of opportunity".

If the scenario is 1 PC vs 1 monster, then this statement isn't really true if the movement part of charging is the only thing that provokes OAs.

Bad wording, I think.
 

fnwc said:
Hmmmm... I guess I'm confused because it says, "Charging provokes attacks of opportunity".

If the scenario is 1 PC vs 1 monster, then this statement isn't really true if the movement part of charging is the only thing that provokes OAs.

Bad wording, I think.
You only provoke when leaving a threatened square. Therefore, the target of the charge would not be able to take an OA because the charger is moving into a threatened square, but not out of one.

In 4E, charging is not a move--it is a standard action. I believe they added the sentence you quoted to signify that the movement portion of the charge is subject to the same OAs as a regular move.
 

Remove ads

Top