D&D 3.x Creature Catalog 3.5 Overhaul Project

Let’s break down the powers a bit, shall we? ;)

Dragon 89 said:
A calygraunt can sense the dweomer emanating from enchanted items and can identify the type, specific functions, and strength (number of charges or spells remaining) of an item. This power has a 90% chance of success, modified as follows: -20% if a spell of any type has been cast upon the feystag; -60% if a confusion or feeblemind has taken effect on the feystag; or -40% if the creature is under psionic attack (these debits are not cumulative; choose the greatest loss in any multiple-attack situation), and -25% if the calygraunt has observed any magical power or function of the item under study in use. A calygraunt may study only 1 item per round, but it may do so in addition to other physical, mental, and magical activity. A feystag free of confusion or feeblemind will instantly be able to detect all dweomers within a 6' radius and rank them according to strength (energy or charges stored or held ready), seeing them as auras of differing luminosity.

RoMD said:
A calygraunt can sense the dweomer emanating from enchanted items and can often identify the type, specific functions, and even strength (number of charges, uses, or spells remaining) of a magical item. This power has a 90% chance of success, modified as follows (choose the greatest applicable debit in any situation; debits are not cumulative):

-20% if a spell has been cast on the feystag in the last 3 turns
- 60% if the feystag is confused or feebleminded
- 40% if the feystag is under psionic attack
+ 25% if the feystag has seen an item ability or function in use

A feystag free of confusion or feeblemindedness automatically senses all dweomers within 60' of it, seeing them as auras of differing brightnesses according to their magical strength. A calygraunt can study only one item per round, but can do so in addition to other physical, mental, and magical activity. A feystag able to handle an item gains a 1-point bonus on its ability check roll; feystags can study items front up to 60' distant.

So… the feystag has an automatic detect magic effect, in relation to magic items only with 60’ radius range. We can keep the modifiers or not – I kind of like them, if we can translate them properly. As discussed, feeblemind and confusion should not (even in 1E/2E really) have ever effected a feystag, so we will not mention that regardless.
As a free action, it can study a single item, once per round. I’m having trouble discerning how this works, but it seems that it works much like identify, and the power above does nothing more than detect the presence of magic items. Suggest an opinion on this.

Dragon 89 said:
A calygraunt may learn enough from studying a magical item to be able to operate it. If the item is activated by command word only, the calygraunt will speak that word. If use of the item or power requires somatic gestures, a calygraunt cannot use it, but if an item can be activated by will or mental command, a calygraunt within 2" may activate it. There is a 40% chance that any item can be so activated (providing the calygraunt has successfully identified it); this chance is modified in the same manner as the chance of identification.

Unless the creature gains physical possession of an item, it will not be able to control the direction of the effects, but often the manner in which an item (such as a wand or ring) is worn or carried will cause it to harm the bearer or those nearby when "turned on" (e.g., a ring of shooting stars could shoot at the wearer's foot).

A calygraunt cannot activate or control an item it has not identified, nor can it attempt to identify a specific item more than once in any day (assuming the first attempt fails). The bearer of an item can wrest control from a feystag operating it from afar if the control method is physical (such as the studs upon a rod of lordly might), or by speaking the proper command words, but if the item is customarily controlled by mental force, the bearer's combined intelligence and wisdom must be more than 32 to seize control. If the opponent's combined intelligence and wisdom scores are less than 29, then he must save vs. spells or be confused for 1-6 rounds. A calygraunt can never charm or force its will upon another through this sort of mental contest.

A calygraunt can activate only one item once per round, although items such as a sword of dancing or certain Quaal's feather tokens that operate continuously for more than a round will do so even after the calygraunt, after activation, has turned its will to the control of something else. A feystag will not activate items without deliberate intent; its mere presence does nothing to awaken magical power.

A calygraunt may repeatedly activate any item that is not designed to operate only once. One is known to have guarded its lair with a wand of frost wedged between two rocks so as to command the approach to its treasure, and activated the item repeatedly to slay or drive off intruders. Calygraunts hoard magical items and delight in exercising control over them. They are (of course) interested in acquiring more. (Note: some artifacts and relics defy identification, or lack a dweomer of sufficient strength to allow a calygraunt to successfully learn their powers.)

RoMD said:
A feystag who has studied an item for a round is allowed an Intelligence check. If it succeeds, the feystag has successfully divined how to activate or control a property of the item. (If the check fails, the feystag may continue study, and is allowed an Intelligence check each round to learn something about its use - or it may examine the item again later, without penalty.) Some magical items, by their nature, defy identification - or have too faint a dweomer for a calygraunt to successfully learn their powers.

If a feystag successfully learns how to operate an item power triggered by force of will, silent mental command, or spoken word of activation, the feystag can make the item power function from 20' or less away. If activation requires somatic gestures or manipulation of a physical control, the feystag can't work the item without physically possessing it.

Feystags can't control or activate items they haven't identified, and can activate only one item per round, once. Items that operate continuously for more than a round will do so even after an activating feystag has turned its attention to another item.

The bearer of an item a feystag activates from afar call try to wrest item control back from the feystag. This is always achieved if the item is controlled by physical means or if the bearer speaks command words (the bearer's words override the feystag's long-range commands). If the bearer is trying to regain control of a power controlled by act of will, the bearer's Intelligence and Wisdom must exceed 32 to succeed. If the total is 29-32, the bearer succeeds, but must save vs. spell or be confused for 1d6 rounds (no one can operate the item during this time, if the bearer still holds it). If the total is 28 or less, the bearer can't regain control from the feystag.

So… if a feystag spends a round identifying an item, as said above, it can make an attempt at controlling it. If the item is controlled by command word, or mental command, the feystag can operate it at 20-foot range. If the item is controlled by some sort of physical action, the feystag cannot control it unless it possesses the item.
It then makes a roll – could be a Use Magic Item roll (modifications apply), to beat a certain DC to take control.

Limit one attempt per day on a specific item. It cannot attempt to control anything it has not first studied/identified.

If the item is controlled by command word, the bearer can override the control by speaking the command word and thus regaining control. If the item is controlled mentally and the bearer tries to seize contol, the bearer and the feystag will make an opposed Charisma check (sound good?) to determine who controls it. If the bearer wins control, the feystag may not make another attempt on that item (normal limit, see above paragraph). If the feystag wins by more than 5, the bearer is confused for 1d6 rounds. If the bearer does not gain control and is not confused, he may make another attempt the next round.

If the creature is not holding the item, the effects will emanate from whichever direction the user is facing, I think. Thus a wand of fireballs would affect anything in front of the wizard. Items that can operate continuously for more than one round and don’t require concentration to maintain will continue to operate even if the feystag attempts to control another item.

This power only works through a feystag’s will, and does not automatically work if they feystag does not intend it to.

Once a feystag has gained control of an item (so long as it doesn’t lose control to another character) it controls that item indefinitely and can activate it again at will so long as it remains within range of its power.

Artifacts may be resistant to this power – perhaps a roll against its Ego?

I would also say that it cannot use potions or scrolls unless it holds them.


Here is how the CC feystag currently has those powers. Let’s see how we can rewrite them. :)

Identify Magic Item (Su): A feystag automatically senses all magical auras within a 60-foot radius, seeing them as auras of differing brightness. A feystag that studies an item for one round makes a Use Magical Device check to determine if it divines how to activate or control a property of the item. (Some magical items defy identification or have too faint a dweomer for the feystag to learn their powers—DM's discretion.)

Note that the creature can study only one item per round, but it can do so in addition to other physical, mental, and magical activity. A feystag able to handle an item gains a +1 bonus to its skill check.

Control Magic Item (Su): If a feystag learns how to operate an item power triggered by force of will, silent mental command, or spoken word by using its identify magic item ability, it can make the item function from 20 feet away.

Feystags can't control or activate items they haven't identified, and they can activate only one item per round, once, but items that operate continuously for more than one round will do so even after the feystag has turned its attention to another item.

The bearer of an item a feystag activates can wrest control from the creature if the item is controlled by physical means or if the bearer speaks command words. (The bearer's words override the feystag's long-range commands.) If the bearer tries to regain control of a power activated by will, he must make two consecutive Wisdom checks (DC 10 + ½ the feystag’s HD + the feystag’s Charisma modifier). If only one check succeeds, the bearer must make a Will save (DC 12) or be confused for 1d6 rounds. No one can operate the item during this time if the bearer still holds it. If both Wisdom checks fail, the bearer cannot wrest control from the feystag.

pics: From Dragon #89, Ruins of Myth Drannor, and Monstrous Compendium Annual 1.
 

Attachments


log in or register to remove this ad

Gaaah! That is one gigantic post. :eek: :eek: :eek:

OK, here goes...

BOZ said:
So… the feystag has an automatic detect magic effect, in relation to magic items only with 60’ radius range. We can keep the modifiers or not – I kind of like them, if we can translate them properly. As discussed, feeblemind and confusion should not (even in 1E/2E really) have ever effected a feystag, so we will not mention that regardless.
As a free action, it can study a single item, once per round. I’m having trouble discerning how this works, but it seems that it works much like identify, and the power above does nothing more than detect the presence of magic items. Suggest an opinion on this.
Hmmm...perhaps instead of detect magic at will, we can give it a continuous greater arcane sight effect. I agree, it does sound like it works like identify.



BOZ said:
So… if a feystag spends a round identifying an item, as said above, it can make an attempt at controlling it. If the item is controlled by command word, or mental command, the feystag can operate it at 20-foot range. If the item is controlled by some sort of physical action, the feystag cannot control it unless it possesses the item.
It then makes a roll – could be a Use Magic Item roll (modifications apply), to beat a certain DC to take control.
I think this would be a nice application of Use Magic Device.

BOZ said:
Limit one attempt per day on a specific item. It cannot attempt to control anything it has not first studied/identified.
Agreed.

BOZ said:
If the item is controlled by command word, the bearer can override the control by speaking the command word and thus regaining control. If the item is controlled mentally and the bearer tries to seize contol, the bearer and the feystag will make an opposed Charisma check (sound good?) to determine who controls it. If the bearer wins control, the feystag may not make another attempt on that item (normal limit, see above paragraph). If the feystag wins by more than 5, the bearer is confused for 1d6 rounds. If the bearer does not gain control and is not confused, he may make another attempt the next round.
How about opposed Use Magic Device rolls, and if the bearer has no ranks in it, may make a Charisma check in its place?

BOZ said:
If the creature is not holding the item, the effects will emanate from whichever direction the user is facing, I think. Thus a wand of fireballs would affect anything in front of the wizard. Items that can operate continuously for more than one round and don’t require concentration to maintain will continue to operate even if the feystag attempts to control another item.
Since there are no facing rules, this could be tough to adjudicate.

BOZ said:
This power only works through a feystag’s will, and does not automatically work if they feystag does not intend it to.
Agreed.

BOZ said:
Once a feystag has gained control of an item (so long as it doesn’t lose control to another character) it controls that item indefinitely and can activate it again at will so long as it remains within range of its power.
Cool.

BOZ said:
Artifacts may be resistant to this power – perhaps a roll against its Ego?
Not all artifacts are intellegent, so not all would have ego. I like the idea of an ego check against intelligent items, though. Otherwise, the feystag should have just as much a chance as the bearer of controlling an artifact, eh?

BOZ said:
I would also say that it cannot use potions or scrolls unless it holds them.
Good point!
 

Yes, it is a gigantic post, but sometimes things need to be that way. :D

Some comments before I start rewriting…

The problem with greater arcane sight is that it specifically does not identify magic items. However, would this be resolved if the feystag can use it to detect the auras, then spend a round studying it to identify it?

There are no facing rules? Really? I figured there would be. Well, it could always be a random direction (and distance, if applicable) away from the caster.

As far as using the ego of intelligent items, we should work this in.
For artifacts, though, I think there should definitely be some penalty to this roll.
 

BOZ said:
Yes, it is a gigantic post, but sometimes things need to be that way. :D
I'm just givin' ya a hard time. :p

BOZ said:
The problem with greater arcane sight is that it specifically does not identify magic items. However, would this be resolved if the feystag can use it to detect the auras, then spend a round studying it to identify it?
That's kinda what I was thinking. Two separate abilities, something like...

Greater Arcane Sight (Sp): A feystag is under the effect of a continuous greater arcane sight effect, as the spell (caster level X).

Identify Magic Item (Su): If a feystag studies an item, blah blah blah.

BOZ said:
There are no facing rules? Really? I figured there would be. Well, it could always be a random direction (and distance, if applicable) away from the caster.
Not in the core rules, but there are in Unearthed Arcana. :)

BOZ said:
As far as using the ego of intelligent items, we should work this in.
For artifacts, though, I think there should definitely be some penalty to this roll.
Works for me.
 

here are the writeups so far...

Greater Arcane Sight (Sp): A feystag is under the effect of a continuous greater arcane sight effect, as the spell (caster level X). Unlike the spell, this power only detects magic items. A feystag sees such magical auras in variations of brightness according to magical strength.

Identify Magic Item (Su): A feystag may study a single magic item within a 60-foot range, as a free action once per round, to determine its magical properties. This ability functions like the identify spell, except that it only takes a single round to gain the full effect.

A feystag must make a Use Magic Device check to successfully discover how to activate or control the properties of an item. The DC for this check is *. The feystag gains a +X bonus if…
(list all modifiers. Examples given in AD&D texts: Handling an item gains +1? Bonus; -4? if a spell has been cast on the feystag in the last 3 minutes; -8? if under psionic attack; and +5? if the feystag has seen the item in use) only the worst penalty is used, and they do not stack.

* (note that the original check is 90% - which would be a 3 or higher on a d20. so to be consistent between editions, the DC should be 3 + the feystag’s UMD bonus.)



Control Magic Item (Su): A feystag may attempt to take control of a magic item that it has successfully identified, if the item’s powers are triggered by force of will, mental command, or a verbal command word. This ability is a standard action and works only on items up to a range of 20 feet away.

(here would be the explanation of how the DC is figured out that a feystag needs to roll Use Magic Device against. We would include modifiers to items with an Ego as well as artifacts. The check here was 40% originally, which like above, would be 13 or higher on a d20 (plus the UMD check), and the same modifiers apply to this roll)

Once a feystag has gained control of an item, it controls that item indefinitely. A feystag only loses control of an item if another character bears the item and attempts to wrest control of the item from the feystag in one of various ways. If the item is controlled by a physical means, the bearer need only perform the action that activates the item to cancel the feystag’s control. If the item is controlled by a command word, the bearer must speak the command word to override the feystag’s long-range commands. If the item is activated by will or mental command, the bearer must make an opposed Use Magic Device check (or Charisma check, if the bearer does not have that skill) against the feystag’s Use Magic Device check. If the bearer’s result is higher, the feystag loses its control over the item. If the feystag’s result is higher by more than 5, the bearer must make a successful Will save (DC X) or become confused, as the spell, for 1d6 rounds. If the bearer does not gain control, and is not confused, he may make another attempt in the next round.

A feystag cannot attempt to control any item that it has not first identified. A feystag cannot attempt to control any item that it has tried to control and failed, as well as any item that it has lost control of, for the rest of that day.

A feystag can activate only one item per round, as a free action, and can choose from any item within range that it has control of. If a feystag operates an item that can operate continuously for more than one round and does not require concentration to maintain, this item will continue to operate even if the feystag activates another item or attempts to control another item in subsequent rounds. A feystag must consciously activate the items it controls, as they do not activate automatically.

(we must at some point in here explain how and where the item takes effect, if random or not. Such as, if an item must be pointed, etc.)

A feystag cannot attempt to control an item that requires some sort of physical action to operate, unless it is in possession of the item. This includes anything that needs to be read (such as scrolls), anything that needs to be ingested or applied to a body or object (such as potions and oils), or anything requiring a lever, button, or switch to be manipulated.
 
Last edited:

BOZ said:
here are the writeups so far...

Greater Arcane Sight (Sp): A feystag is under the effect of a continuous greater arcane sight effect, as the spell (caster level X). Unlike the spell, this power only detects magic items. A feystag sees such magical auras in variations of brightness according to magical strength.
Lookin' good.

BOZ said:
Identify Magic Item (Su): A feystag may study a single magic item within a 60-foot range, as a free action once per round, to determine its magical properties. This ability functions like the identify spell, except that it only takes a single round to gain the full effect.
Still good.

BOZ said:
A feystag must make a Use Magic Device check to successfully discover how to activate or control the properties of an item. The DC for this check is *. The feystag gains a +X bonus if…
(list all modifiers. Examples given in AD&D texts: Handling an item gains +1? Bonus; -4? if a spell has been cast on the feystag in the last 3 minutes; -8? if under psionic attack; and +5? if the feystag has seen the item in use) only the worst penalty is used, and they do not stack.

* (note that the original check is 90% - which would be a 3 or higher on a d20. so to be consistent between editions, the DC should be 3 + the feystag’s UMD bonus.)
The base DC for UMD appears to be 20. I suppose all the AD&D modifiers could still apply.

BOZ said:
Control Magic Item (Su): A feystag may attempt to take control of a magic item that it has successfully identified, if the item’s powers are triggered by force of will, mental command, or a verbal command word. This ability is a standard action and works only on items up to a range of 20 feet away.
Good.

BOZ said:
(here would be the explanation of how the DC is figured out that a feystag needs to roll Use Magic Device against. We would include modifiers to items with an Ego as well as artifacts. The check here was 40% originally, which like above, would be 13 or higher on a d20 (plus the UMD check), and the same modifiers apply to this roll)
You lost me here. Are you saying that the DC should be 13 + modifiers?

BOZ said:
Once a feystag has gained control of an item, it controls that item indefinitely. A feystag only loses control of an item if another character bears the item and attempts to wrest control of the item from the feystag in one of various ways. If the item is controlled by a physical means, the bearer need only perform the action that activates the item to cancel the feystag’s control. If the item is controlled by a command word, the bearer must speak the command word to override the feystag’s long-range commands. If the item is activated by will or mental command, the bearer must make an opposed Use Magic Device check (or Charisma check, if the bearer does not have that skill) against the feystag’s Use Magic Device check. If the bearer’s result is higher, the feystag loses its control over the item. If the feystag’s result is higher by more than 5, the bearer must make a successful Will save (DC X) or become confused, as the spell, for 1d6 rounds. If the bearer does not gain control, and is not confused, he may make another attempt in the next round.
Good.

BOZ said:
A feystag cannot attempt to control any item that it has not first identified. A feystag cannot attempt to control any item that it has tried to control and failed, as well as any item that it has lost control of, for the rest of that day.
Sounds fine, although the standard would probably be "the next 24 hours" instead of "the rest of the day". Picking at nits, never mind me. ;)

BOZ said:
A feystag can activate only one item per round, as a free action, and can choose from any item within range that it has control of. If a feystag operates an item that can operate continuously for more than one round and does not require concentration to maintain, this item will continue to operate even if the feystag activates another item or attempts to control another item in subsequent rounds. A feystag must consciously activate the items it controls, as they do not activate automatically.
That works.

BOZ said:
(we must at some point in here explain how and where the item takes effect, if random or not. Such as, if an item must be pointed, etc.)
This will be the tricky part. I suppose we could reference the splash (aka grenadelike) weapons direction charts.

BOZ said:
A feystag cannot attempt to control an item that requires some sort of physical action to operate, unless it is in possession of the item. This includes anything that needs to be read (such as scrolls), anything that needs to be ingested or applied to a body or object (such as potions and oils), or anything requiring a lever, button, or switch to be manipulated.
Excellently worded! :D
 

Since most of it is so good, let’s focus on the more raw stuff. ;)

For the UMD DC’s… I went and actually read some of the description for the skill (it’s not one that comes up often for me) to see exactly how it is used. Since the DCs for certain types of items are provided already, we can just KISS (you know what that stands for right?) and go with those. For everything else (swords, rings, etc) we could use 15? For the identify only, we could give it a flat, base bonus (+6 or +8 I think). The other modifiers would be included in the text as examples. I’m thinking it should also get a bonus if it is handling the item itself.

For the effect of aimed items, yes we could try applying the grenade/splash effect for the randomness.

I’ll work on writing up some the modifiers ASAP.

Thought on feats, as a sidetrack: we could make the Skill Focus a bonus feat, thus reducing the need to eliminate a feat. ;)
 


how about if you post some thoughts on the splash effect thing, and i'll hit the UMD stuff & modifiers? :D
 


Remove ads

Top