Damn fool question about Quicken

Piratecat said:
In addition, can you use more than one metamagic feat on a spell in 3.5? Can sorcerers cast a heightened extended empowered spell, or are they limited to just one enhancement? If they can use more than one, does it still take just the full action?

I feel stupid asking, but I (and my feeble rules-finding skills) appreciate the help.

Since Oin already answered the part about quickening, I'll throw my 2 cents in here.

In 3.5 you can apply multiple metamagic feats to spells, but each metamagic feat only once. The 3.5 PH discusses this on pg. 88, near the bottom, second column. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's worth noting, too, that in 3E you could quicken Summon Monster (or any other "one full round" spell), while in 3.5 you can't.

-Hyp.
 

FrankTrollman said:
Because intent is subjective. Literal wording is objective.

And the interpretation of what the literal wording does actually mean (the ambiguity you mention) is again subjective. ;)

And you are (at least partially) wrong Frank, a quickened Magic Missile is not a unique spell, it is still a 1st level spell for all purposes except the spell slot occupied, you still don't need to have it on your spell list or written in your spellbook to be able to cast it, it is still subject to Spell Immunity and can still be counterspelled by a non-quickened Magic Missile or vice versa, it is still negated by a Shield. It is still a Magic Missile, just altered by metamagic.

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
It's worth noting, too, that in 3E you could quicken Summon Monster (or any other "one full round" spell), while in 3.5 you can't.

-Hyp.

Sure you can, the feat says you can't quicken a spell with casting time longer than 1 full round, full round spells are still cool.
 

Stalker0 said:
Sure you can, the feat says you can't quicken a spell with casting time longer than 1 full round, full round spells are still cool.
That's not quite what the feat says. Its exact wording is: "A spell whose casting time is more than 1 full round action cannot be quickened."

A full-round action is not the same as one full round.
 
Last edited:

FrankTrollman said:
There's no "reason" that Sorcerers can't quicken in 3rd edition - unless you count Skip Williams' say-so.
That's a good enough reason and one that's been agreed on by 99% of people out there. Now clam up already.
 

KaeYoss said:
Also, (on a side note), the fact that natural 20 and 1 matter not only on attack rolls, but saving throws as well. This was in Deities and Demigods.

It was also before. The designers made this clear this was their intent all along -- it was in the first FAQ or errata to be published that natural 1 and 20 were auto success for every d20 rolls, save skill checks, ability checks, and high-level monk damage rolls.

(Here you see one reason the words "roll", "check", and "throw" get used for different things. Checks are special d20 rolls that are exempted from the autosuccess/failure rule. Damage rolls are also exempted, because there's no DC to beat with a damage roll.)
 

Stalker0 said:
Sure you can, the feat says you can't quicken a spell with casting time longer than 1 full round, full round spells are still cool.

The feat actually says you can't apply it to any spell whose casting time is "longr than one full-round action" ... a casting time of "1 round" is longer than "one full-round action".

Any sorceror or bard worth the name will tell you that.

Summon Monster: casting time 1 round

Empowered Magic Missile (cast by a sorceror): casting time 1 full-round action

If both spells are cast at the same initiative, what happens? Simple ... both casters spend a full-round action. The EmpMM resolves immediately, and the spell is done with. However, the Summon Monster isn't done yet; THAT spellcaster has to continue cocentrating until his next turn, and which point the spell is complete, and he can choose what to summon, and where.
 

Stalker0 said:
Sure you can, the feat says you can't quicken a spell with casting time longer than 1 full round, full round spells are still cool.

That's what it said in 3E. As Auraseer notes, in 3.5, they've added a word. Now you can't Quicken a spell with a casting time longer than one full-round action. And a casting time of one full round is longer than a casting time of one full-round action, so they can't be Quickened any more.

-Hyp.
 

Also keep in mind that it's okay for a sorcerer to take the Quicken spell feat, while he cannot use it... immediately.
The ELH makes clear the fact that a sorcerer can quicken spells once s/he takes Multispell as an Epic feat, thereby allowing said sorcerer to cast one additional quicken spell (above their normal limit of zero) per round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top