Let's say the human rolls his 20, and sees the large creature in plain sight 200 feet away, starting the encounter. He shoots an arrow from his composite longbow with a -2 penalty (since the opponent is in the second range increment).Mistwell said:But there is. It's right there in the spot rules. What is not making sense with that? The human with a +0 bonus to spot looking at a large sized object in plain sight can see that object at 200 feet if they roll a 20. But, if that thing is at 210 feet next turn, the human cannot see it (unless the DM decides to grant some sort of spot modifier...but such modifiers can only do so much, and at some point even those won't help).
The opponent moves 10 feet back - he is now a large creature in plain sight 210 feet away.
The encounter has started. Can the human see the large creature?