Dazed & Stunned

Graz

First Post
P 300 - 301 of the DMG list the descriptions of Dazed and Stunned. My question is if a creature is immune to stunning, from one method or other (such as racial special quality) does that make it immune to being dazed?

There is an argument for dazed being a lesser form of stunned and thus falling into the immune to stunning effect. But I can find nothing to backup that rule.

My first response when it came up in game play is that they are separate conditions as the DMG lists nothing specifically linking them. This of course initiated the debate where the above argument stated.

Has this come up for anyone else and if so how has this been handled?

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Graz said:
[...] There is an argument for dazed being a lesser form of stunned and thus falling into the immune to stunning effect. But I can find nothing to backup that rule. [...]

Hi!

There's nothing that constitutes a connection between the two conditions within the game rules. Even poisons and ravages (see the BoED) have almost the same game machanics and are handeled separately. My point being: Do not mix up dazing and stunning. :)

Kind regards

P.S.: From the medicinic/forensic point of view there's nothing that prevents you from doing so.
 

What Scharlata said. In-game, there's no logical connection between dazing and stunning. IME, there's no reason there should be, and I run them as written. YMMV.
 

Remove ads

Top