Do the spells of a slain spellcaster end the instant he is killed?


log in or register to remove this ad

What kind of spells? Mage Armour and such cast ON the now-dead caster would end, but I would say that lingering spells and effects on other areas aren't at all limited to the caster's life unless concentration is required.
 

The rules say spells from summoned casters end if they die... does this apply to regular casters too I'm wondering...?
 
Last edited:


Only spells with a duration of "Concentration" end when the caster dies. Every other spell continues until the end of it's normal duration.
 

Dracuwulf said:
The rules say spells from summoned casters end if they die... does this apply to regular casters too I'm wondering...?

No. It applies to Summoned creatures because of the note in the Summoning subschool description that all spells they cast end (unless the duration expires) when the Summoning spell ends. The 'death' of a Summoned creature effectively ends the spell for that creature.

It's a very specific case.

-Hyp.
 

Spells with a concentration requirement would end, and spells targeting the caster that have a target of a creature would stop functioning, since a corpse is an object and not a creature.
 

Ottergame said:
... and spells targeting the caster that have a target of a creature would stop functioning, since a corpse is an object and not a creature.

That's debated. The spells can only be cast on a creature, but what happens if a valid target ceases to be a valid target after the spell takes effect is unclear.

For example, if I cast Heat Metal on two creatures standing 25' apart, and they subsequently both take 5' steps away from each other, what happens?

If I cast Levitate on a willing subject, and lift him ten feet into the air, and then he changes his mind and decides he's unwilling, what happens?

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
That's debated. The spells can only be cast on a creature, but what happens if a valid target ceases to be a valid target after the spell takes effect is unclear.

For example, if I cast Heat Metal on two creatures standing 25' apart, and they subsequently both take 5' steps away from each other, what happens?

If I cast Levitate on a willing subject, and lift him ten feet into the air, and then he changes his mind and decides he's unwilling, what happens?

-Hyp.

Well, I didn't say the spell ended, I just it said it stopped functioning. :) If a valid targets becomes invalid, the spell stops working. As for the levitation, he gave up his save already, it's to late to change your mind after the fact.
 


Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top