Does ongoing damage stack?

You take those 5 points of damage either way (because the save comes after the ongoing damage is dealt; at the end of your turn).

Bye
Thanee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It will be interesting down the road to see how "exceptions" are made to this core rule. Such as monsters whose flame damage stacks, etc...
 

It will be interesting down the road to see how "exceptions" are made to this core rule. Such as monsters whose flame damage stacks, etc...

That'd be too awkward imho.

You could have the flat value change depending on the number of adjacent allies/monsters. 5 + 2 per each adjacent....
 

Easy enough for a creature ability

Incinerate (Standard*At-Will)
Ranged 10 Target takes 1d6+4 fire damage and ongoing 5 fire damage (Save Ends).
Against creatures suffering from ongoing 5 fire damage this attack instead deals 2d6+4 fire damage and ongoing 10 fire damage (Save Ends) Aftereffect ongoing 5 fire damage (Save Ends)
 

Hmm. Not necessarily - p278 seems to imply that you make one saving throw against each damage type for ongoing damage. So if there are multiple ongoing fire damage effects, you make a saving throw against ongoing fire damage. If there are three ongoing fire damage effects and one ongoing acid damage effect, you make a saving throw against fire damage and a saving throw against acid damage.

-Hyp.

Ack .. that would mean different sources of fire ongoing that also have other conditions associated with each will be a rules mess ..
 


Does that mean you could potentially create a super combo wherein an Orb Wizard does something like cast a spell that causes 5 ongoing fire damage, save ends, while another character uses a power that causes 15 ongoing fire damage, resulting in the character taking 15 ongoing fire damage until they make a save while taking a massive penalty to that save from the Orb Wizard?
 

Ack .. that would mean different sources of fire ongoing that also have other conditions associated with each will be a rules mess ..

Not really. Just glom them all together into one. If you're taking "ongoing 5 fire damage and dazed (save ends)" from one source, and "ongoing 10 fire damage and immobilized (save ends)" from another, they merge into a single "ongoing 10 fire damage and dazed and immobilized (save ends)" effect.

Does that mean you could potentially create a super combo wherein an Orb Wizard does something like cast a spell that causes 5 ongoing fire damage, save ends, while another character uses a power that causes 15 ongoing fire damage, resulting in the character taking 15 ongoing fire damage until they make a save while taking a massive penalty to that save from the Orb Wizard?

Tricky question that, but I think the answer is "no." The rules say you save against one of the effects; presumably you can pick which one, so obviously you'll pick the one that isn't giving you a massive penalty on the roll.
 
Last edited:

Does that mean you could potentially create a super combo wherein an Orb Wizard does something like cast a spell that causes 5 ongoing fire damage, save ends, while another character uses a power that causes 15 ongoing fire damage, resulting in the character taking 15 ongoing fire damage until they make a save while taking a massive penalty to that save from the Orb Wizard?

That's where it breaks down, I guess.

You should send that question to Wizards for answering. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top