• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Ethereal Sidestep + Immovable Shaft = Flight?

honeybunch

First Post
I'm quite new to D&D, so it's very possible I missed something.

However, it seems to me like a character with the utility power ethereal sidestep and an immovable shaft is capable of something roughly equivalent to flight. It can be moved with a minor action.

The immovable shaft is gravity defying, and simply floats in its place in the air unless a high level strength check is made against it. Ethereal sidestep allows the user to make an at-will move action teleport of one square.

Can a character with both the shaft and sidestep simply teleport with the rod in hand, expending a minor action to move it and then a move action to move with it? Note that the minor action allows the user to "reposition" the shaft, not merely move it, which makes me think that it retains its gravity defying qualities.

Of course, this would only allow for a "fly" speed of one square, but there are various teleportation extending magical items in the game which could increase that distance.

I'm not planning on actually doing this in a game. I'm just wonder if this is a valid form of movement according to the rules, or is there something I've overlooked?

Mort_Q

First Post
Sure... why not... it's hardly overpowered.

If you want the rod to keep you off the ground you have to hang on to it... so not really flying per se...

... so a level 10 Warlock could work there way up a cliff or over a gap... but watch out if their artillery sees you.

There are easier ways.

honeybunch

First Post
Sure... why not... it's hardly overpowered.

It could be significantly more powerful with a teleportation distance increasing item or two.