Infiniti2000
First Post
I don't think I have a suitable response, quite honestly. Natural weapons use different rules than other attacks (the number of attacks is undefined, for example). However, you're right that nothing actually says that a natural weapon attack is not suitable for substitution on trips, grapples, or anything else.Patryn of Elvenshae said:Could you expand on your reasoning?
I posed myself this question: How many (natural weapon) attacks does a monster with (e.g.) three natural weapons get? To answer this, we need to look at a few rules (possibly quoted previously in the thread).
Okay, from this quote the BAB is irrelevant and we have to look at the individual monster description. I looked and looked but found nothing that actually says something like "a monster normally gets one attack per natural weapon." So, the number actually depends upon examples.SRD said:Creatures do not receive additional attacks from a high base attack bonus when using natural weapons. The number of attacks a creature can make with its natural weapons depends on the type of the attack—generally, a creature can make one bite attack, one attack per claw or tentacle, one gore attack, one sting attack, or one slam attack (although Large creatures with arms or arm-like limbs can make a slam attack with each arm). Refer to the individual monster descriptions.
Let's have our example monster possess 3 natural weapon attacks. This line in its stat block would therefore have to list all 3. But, does a monster (or even PC) with natural weapons use the same type of Full Attack Action as, say, a someone wielding a sword? I don't think so.SRD said:Full Attack
This line shows all the physical attacks the creature makes when it uses a full-round action to make a full attack. It gives the number of attacks along with the weapon. . .
Clearly, using natural weapons must be "some special reason." The natural weapon full attack is not the same because it is governed under different rules (no iterative attacks, rules on combining weapons, primary/secondary vs. primary/off-hand, etc.).SRD said:If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough, because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon or for some special reason you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks.
Is this qualification of "not the same" good enough to warrant not applying the footnote on grapple, trip, and disarm? I think so.