Grapple

Lichemaster

Explorer
I had a hill giant under a bridge grapple a character, now it says I have to move in to continue the grapple can I make a strength check and pull the character off the bridge?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Lichemaster said:
I had a hill giant under a bridge grapple a character, now it says I have to move in to continue the grapple can I make a strength check and pull the character off the bridge?

I'm not sure of the exact setup, but presumable the hill giant is standing beside the bridge, otherwise the character would have full cover. If that's the case, then the giant is forced to move towards the character's space. If it can't the grapple can't be maintained and the giant needs to let go. Note that it's the giant that needs to move, not the character. Only creatures with Improved Grab drag characters towards them. In this case, unless the giant can climb onto the bridge, I'd say the grapple failed.

Pinotage
 

the giant is under the bridge and I wanted it to take the character off the bridge and try and drown a character.
So how would I go about doing this?
Should I just do apposed strength check for the character and giant as he wants to pull him off the bridge?
 

Techically the giant can be in the PCs space if you think in 3D. The character is in the air relative to the base of the giant. The gaint can move into the PCs space and still be on the ground. Think of a flying PC and how that would work.
 

I see how that can work they do step out from under the bridge and have a 10ft reach so if the character was within 5ft of the side of the bridge they would be already in reach and would not need to move in they are already in.

So does anyone know where the rule is for pulling a grapple character off a bridge would be?

Or in this example would the character be considered pulled automatically as he is already grappled?
 

Lichemaster said:
I see how that can work they do step out from under the bridge and have a 10ft reach so if the character was within 5ft of the side of the bridge they would be already in reach and would not need to move in they are already in.

So does anyone know where the rule is for pulling a grapple character off a bridge would be?

Or in this example would the character be considered pulled automatically as he is already grappled?

There are rules in the grapple section for moving a grapple. The giant can move the grapple away from the bridge and then attempt to pin the PC. Once that happens he can start attempting to drown the PC.

Keep in mind that unless the giant has improved grapple the PC gets an AOO when the giant tries to start the grapple. If the PC does damage the grapple attempt fails.
 


Lichemaster said:
I was not sure if I could move them off the bridge but I guess I can, thanks everyone!

Once the giant has established the grapple, it can still attempt to 'move the grapple' hence pulling the character off the bridge, but this requires a standard action so it might not work on the first round. You could, if the bridge was narrow, rule that a bull rush might get the PC off the bridge on the other side and into the water.

Pinotage
 

Remove ads

Top