Ranger REG said:
I concede. But it's minor.
Agreed.
However, just this evening, we had a fight that ended up like this in hexes (although it is difficult to represent here):
. . . P . . .
. . N . N . .
. P . . . P .
N . . . . . N
where N = NPCs and P = PCs (in hexes, this is a 60 degree angle, not a 45 degree one).
This lasted for several rounds (because everyone was more concerned about getting flanking bonuses than giving them) and jokes were actually made when one player finally busted up the V pattern. However, a few of the NPCs attempted to leave before being killed and each of them got an AoO from at least one PC because they ended up going through a threatened hex while withdrawing. So, it can and does happen (quite often in games where the NPCs do not always fight to the death and both PCs and NPCs attempt to flank a lot).
What's nice about this situation in hexes is that you can choose the perceived weaker of your two opponents to give the AoO. But, one opponent will always get an AoO (assuming no Tumble or other way to avoid movement AoOs), regardless of direction in which you withdrawal.
With squares, depending on situation, either zero, one, or two opponents will get AoOs.
And, there are other freaky things with squares that do not happen with hexes, especially with regard to reach and area of effect (especially cones). With hexes, x spaces away is the same in all directions (a "circle" always looks like a big hex

). You do not have to calculate (or have templates cut out of) weird semi-circular shapes by counting up 1.5 squares diagonally and 1 square horizontally or vertically.
Nifft said:
Three hexes.

Just like with Squares, the critter sits on an intersection.
A 15 ft. critter takes up seven hexes (instead of nine squares). Just like with Squares, the critter does NOT sit on an intersection.
This would work. Thanks for the idea.
I've always just used two hexes for a large creature, regardless of whether it was large tall or large long.
The examples on page 308 and 309 of the 3.5 DMG (and the corresponding reach rules) are a bit bizarre with regard to long creatures vs. tall creatures. For example, a 10 foot tall creature with a reach weapon can attack 20 feet in front of him. The same creature prone (presumably or another creature of the exact same size but on all fours) with a reach weapon can only attack 10 feet in front of himself.
Why wouldn't the length of the exact same reach weapon be the same in both cases? It's as if large long creatures use medium sized reach weapons and large tall creatures use large sized reach weapons. Very strange.