Holding a touch spell... indefinitly.

Scratched_back

First Post
Hi all,

Just another slight rules conundrum!

I play a 1stFighter/5thWiz/2ndElditchKnight and I use a greatsword.

A lot of the time I tend to use Vampyric touch to recoup hitpoints to give our cleric a bit of a break, and also inflict a little damage. My question is, when you hold a touch spell in your hands it used to last 10 rounds (in 3.0), I'm sure it did, and if you didn't use it inside that timeframe, it dissipated.

The actual wording now says that you can hold the charge "indefinitly" which blurs things somewhat.

1) Could I theoretically 'charge my hand' at the start of the day and utilise the stored spell when a fight comes along, saving myself one round's casting?

2) If I had the spell charged on my hand, now that I have two attacks per round, could I use my first attack to swing with my greatsword and my second to touch the opponent and unleash the spell?

Cheers all,

Take care.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SRD said:
If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
So, (1) Yes, if you don't touch anything in the meantime. (2) No.
 



Scratched_back said:
On the 2nd point, why not? I always thought it was possible...
I don't see where in the rules that is allowed. Maybe I'm missing something.
Lasher Dragon said:
AKAIK You could attack with the sword and touch with the spell. An attack can be used to deliver a touch spell.
But that's not what he said. He wants to make a regular attack with a greatsword, and then make a second touch attack to deliver the spell.
 

If you re-read Len's quote "If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.", you'll see why. Your sword is 'anything' and thus touching your sword discharges the spell (even if it isn't a valid target; that simply means the spell is ineffective). And since its a twohand sword its impossible to attack with it without touching it with the hand the spell is in.
 

Ahh yes I see Diirk - if he is using a two-handed weapon, no-go. However, if he were using a single-handed weapon, and was holding a touch spell in his other hand, then if he has more than 1 attack per round I see no reason why he couldn't swing his sword for 1 attack and touch for another.
 

He could only do it if he was holding the sword the entire time, starting before he cast his spell. Otherwise he'd discharge it when he draws the sword.

You also have to be careful not to scratch your nose, etc. I exempt the floor from "anything."
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top