D&D 5E How do you rule exploding damage (on monster death) and attack damage reduction?

Girukon

Villager
Hi all,
So I have a barbarian Ancestral Guardian, and we faced a monster that explodes when died.
As I had it marked with my spirits, wanted to know if the damage reduction of my ancient spirit can protect my allies from this damage.

My DM says that the monster exploding was not "an attack", just a consequence of its death, so my ancient spirits can't protect my allies from this damage, but he wasn't sure, and neither I am.

Ty all!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you're looking at the Ancestral Protectors ability, then I agree that it's not an attack. But I think the Spirit Shield power would still allow you to use your reaction to save one companion from some damage.
 

Attacks in 5e don't include fireballs, magic missiles, or a myriad of other stuff. Attacks are things with attack rolls, which are special kinds of d20 Tests. Automatic damage is not an attack. Saving throw means not an attack.

Attacks are usually weapon attacks. If they aren't weapon attacks, they are weapon-like and fueled by magic and called Spell Attacks, where the spell usually forms something weapon-like (or projectile-like) and attempts to contact with the target.

Ancestral Guardians interferes with that such weapon-like attacks. It doesn't get in the way of fireballs, disintegration rays, or other stuff.

...

A meta feature of attacks is that the effect of being hit is usually relatively bounded in the 5 - 40 point range. Creatures usually (but not always) get more attacks rather than bigger attacks. Huge creatures can get damage in the upper end of this range. (The TRex, for example, has a heavy 33 point bite, which is huge for its CR (plus a tail attack on a different target). It is an exception. King Kong, 1 CR later, does 2 attacks for 22, also large but not huge. Solars, much higher CR, does 27 per tap (x3), less than the TRex.

The Solar's bow attack hides its slaying effect (doing up to 100 damage) behind a saving throw.

The same kind of ability that isn't an attack is often X damage, save for half, or AOE, or the like.
 

Welcome to ENWorld, @Girukon !

Technically your DM is correct; no attack roll was made and the Attack action was not called...so it wasn't an attack. It's a bummer, but I think your DM made the right call.
 


Remove ads

Top