Only while you occupy the squares of the spell. And half movement doesn’t provoke Attacks of opportunity
Yes, his movement is only at half speed within the squares of the spell. Its not the half movement that I'm considering as what will provoke the AoO.
It's the fact that if he withdraws, only the first square (5 ft.) is supposed to count for not taking an AoO during the full-round action. But, if he has to spend 10 feet of movement to move through each square (including the first one) of the
ice storm, while withdrawing, it makes it less clear cut in my mind.
You're probably right, but I need to doublecheck whether or not withdrawing, in this way, includes only the first square of movement or the first 5 feet of movement. If the spell's area is considered difficult terrain*, does that change how Tim can withdraw or if he can use the withdraw action at all?
So, far the Rules Compendium (and the old v.3.5 FAQ) has been no help.
And, I think we've had this conversation before for either this game or Heroes of Carnell, but I cannot remember what I decided. I might have to search both OOC threads. Right now, I've just started reading this
old EN World thread from 2010.
* The PFRPG 1E version calls it difficult terrain, but the PHB v.3.5 does not. I found something online that says a character can't, but that was for Star Wars Saga Edition, so not the same thing at all.