D&D 5E (2014) Levitate is a save-or-die spell


log in or register to remove this ad

The wind spell does NOT move a creature ordinarily. The blast with the invocation that pushes DOES move creatures ordinarily.

So you do agree that the spell text below doesn't exclude a creature from being moved by an outside force (such as EB with the proper invocation). That's a good starting point

"The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach".

It's pretty simple - levitation does not add any special ability to move aside from the pushing against a fixed object rule. So it's otherwise the default - would it normally push them regardless of whether or not they are on the ground? If yes then it pushes them. If no, then it does not.

I see nothing in the spell that says wind can only blow the levitated creature if would have blown the creature while not levitated. Sounds like you are adding to the spell to me.
 

So in your game if there is a weight limit on a spell can you ignore the weight limit if the spell is cast on a levitated creature because they are weightless?

He didn't say levitation caused them to be weightless...

Instead he said "but for purposes of horizontal movement you're weightless."

That's clearly not him defining the spell as causing actual weightlessness.

Why did you misrepresent his words?
 

So in your game if there is a weight limit on a spell can you ignore the weight limit if the spell is cast on a levitated creature because they are weightless?

And of course THAT raises the question of what happens if a 2nd wizard casts Levitate on an already levitated creature, and then fights the first wizard for control....
 


So in your game if there is a weight limit on a spell can you ignore the weight limit if the spell is cast on a levitated creature because they are weightless?
I'm having a hard time thinking of a situation where that would apply, given that Levitate itself has a weight limit that's as or more restrictive than most other spells.

(though technically with Levitate it should be a mass limit...)
 

And of course THAT raises the question of what happens if a 2nd wizard casts Levitate on an already levitated creature, and then fights the first wizard for control....
Weightless or not, that is a good question. :)

I suspect the end result would see the poor target bobbing up and down in mid-air while the two (or more!) Wizards trying to control it got redder and redder in the face...
 

Weightless or not, that is a good question. :)

I suspect the end result would see the poor target bobbing up and down in mid-air while the two (or more!) Wizards trying to control it got redder and redder in the face...

Can't a creature only be affected by 1 named debuff at a time. In this case wouldn't that mean that the last casted levitate would function?

Admittedly the bobbing up and down is funnier.
 

I'm having a hard time thinking of a situation where that would apply, given that Levitate itself has a weight limit that's as or more restrictive than most other spells.

(though technically with Levitate it should be a mass limit...)
Levitate a 500 lb object and then move it around with mage hand?
 

I see nothing in the spell that says wind can only blow the levitated creature if would have blown the creature while not levitated. Sounds like you are adding to the spell to me.

How is "baring something in the spell description saying otherwise, treat it like normal" adding to the spell? ALL spells work that way.
 

Remove ads

Top