Lycanthrope's BAB?

Shin Okada

Explorer
Sample Lycanthropes in MM seems to be using original character's BAB (+0, 1st-level Commoner) in human form and Animal's BAB (3/4 of it's HD) in animal form. Now, if the original character has higher BAB than it's animal form, can he use his original BAB in animal form? Or must use animal's BAB?

*I have editid this post as I have wrote "BSB" instead of "BAB".
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad




I would say it would depend on whether he reatained control or not. If he did, he could use his BAB. If not, he would use the animal BAB. In fact, I would do that whether his BAB were higher or lower, now that I think about it. Thus, a Lycanthrop in control would have the infected character's BAB (+0 in the case of a commoner), whereas an uncontrolled one would have the animal BAB.
 

This is what the rules say on MM p. 217-218:


Attacks: Same as the character or animal, depending on which form the lycanthrope is using. (A wererat in hybrid form is an exception; see the entry below.)

I do give lycanthropes in animal form a BAB of 3/4 x HD (which itself does get treated as whichever is higher). There's no language which directly gives them their higher character BAB, however.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top