Magic missle question

Yes, you are correct. A circle around the power means that it is a "basic attack" action. Circle around Sword is "Melee Basic Attack", while Circle around the Bow and Arrow is a "Ranged Basic Attack".

When a power says you may use a "Basic Attack", you can use either. When it says you may do a Melee Basic Attack, it must specifically be a Melee Basic Attack, not a Ranged Basic Attack.

The Opportunity Attack specifically grants a Melee Basic Attack, and your DM used a Ranged Basic Attack instead. That was not a correct ruling.

Furthermore, because Magic Missile is a "Ranged Attack" (without some exception from a feat or power), that in itself provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Even *IF* the Wizard could use Magic Missile as an Opportunity Attack (which he legally can't), then his Magic Missile would provoke an Opportunity Attack.

Now here's the fun part though... If the DM allowed him to use his ranged basic attack of Magic Missile on you for an Opportunity Attack, which in itself provokes another Opportunity Attack because it is ranged, YOU can't be the one to make the opportunity attack. This is because you can't make opportunity attacks (or take opportunity actions) on your own turn! However, someone else adjacent *could* an Opportunity Attack against them!

Hopefully they will use a Melee Basic Attack, like the rules say, or else they will just cause a chain reaction of Ranged Opportunity Attacks! ;)

It's a good thing this situation isn't legal, or Wizard school's sparring rooms would be a mess!

This. Eloquently stated and explained. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Generally, a monster with magic missle is artillery. Which means that players -expect- to be able to melee it with impunity.
I disagree. Many (or even most) artillery monsters have ways to deal with melee attackers, they can either shift away, teleport, or have other means to make sure they can continue to fulfill their role as artillery.

Although it doesn't have anything to do with monsters, I'd also like to point out that the Seeker class has powers that allow it to make ranged attacks as opportunity attacks. There's even a paragon path that allows them to use every basic ranged attack as an opportunity attack (which is very nice since Seekers get many encounter powers that can be used in place of a basic ranged attack).

IOW, if you create an npc or a monster based on the Seeker class, it's absolutely okay to allow it to make ranged attacks as opportunity attacks.
 

That makes it a controller monster which means it should have less hitpoints and less damage for its attacks.
Actually, only lurkers and artillery have less hit points than normal. Controllers get Constitution Score + (Level +1) x 8 hit points, the same as soldiers and skirmishers. The controller monster role is not the same as the controller class role. :)
 

I think 'white knighting' might be a little strong. . .to me it felt like you were coming to the rules lawyers to try and get your DM in trouble. To be honest, neither of you are really that wrong in your opinions. He made a mistake and copped to it, you wanted to know what the rule is and you do. . .

No harm done really. I think those of us defending your DM maybe wanted it to be clear that *if* it was intentional he was well within his rights to do so.

Jay
 

Remove ads

Top