Magic missle question

So the first At-will with the quarterstaff and the circled sword pointing upwards is what legally should have been used for the OA, right? (which is kind of funny because that one actually looks like it had more potential damage anyways).

Yes, you are correct. A circle around the power means that it is a "basic attack" action. Circle around Sword is "Melee Basic Attack", while Circle around the Bow and Arrow is a "Ranged Basic Attack".

When a power says you may use a "Basic Attack", you can use either. When it says you may do a Melee Basic Attack, it must specifically be a Melee Basic Attack, not a Ranged Basic Attack.

The Opportunity Attack specifically grants a Melee Basic Attack, and your DM used a Ranged Basic Attack instead. That was not a correct ruling.

Furthermore, because Magic Missile is a "Ranged Attack" (without some exception from a feat or power), that in itself provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Even *IF* the Wizard could use Magic Missile as an Opportunity Attack (which he legally can't), then his Magic Missile would provoke an Opportunity Attack.

Now here's the fun part though... If the DM allowed him to use his ranged basic attack of Magic Missile on you for an Opportunity Attack, which in itself provokes another Opportunity Attack because it is ranged, YOU can't be the one to make the opportunity attack. This is because you can't make opportunity attacks (or take opportunity actions) on your own turn! However, someone else adjacent *could* an Opportunity Attack against them!

Hopefully they will use a Melee Basic Attack, like the rules say, or else they will just cause a chain reaction of Ranged Opportunity Attacks! ;)

It's a good thing this situation isn't legal, or Wizard school's sparring rooms would be a mess!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In an early Penny Arcade D&D podcast, Andy Collins erroneously mentioned making opportunity attacks with a magic missile spell. This may be the root cause of this confusion if your DM is an avid podcaster.

-O
 


sort of related but different...

if the DM did allow a magic ranged attack as an OA, with the mob casting the ranged spell, would they then be able to be hit with an OA if a player was adjacent to them?
 

sort of related but different...

if the DM did allow a magic ranged attack as an OA, with the mob casting the ranged spell, would they then be able to be hit with an OA if a player was adjacent to them?
No, because it would still be the players turn and you can only do OAs on annother combatants turn
 

No, because it would still be the players turn and you can only do OAs on annother combatants turn

Only if the 'player' is the one provoking the attack. Another ally adjacent to the opponent can. However, I'm not aware of any ranged or area OAs by the book (which means I haven't looked. I don't need a lits, thanks).

To the OP: The DM most likely isn't playing perfectly correctly by the rules. However this is something rather minor and there's no reason they couldn't just change the monster so it had a 'Magic Missile' OA that was melee touch. There's a feat to do it already.

I wouldn't worry about it, though I'd bring it to their attention just so it doesn't get to be a problem with something nastier like beholder eye rays.
 

As a point of interest, the Sharpshooter PP lets you make OAs with a ranged weapon.

(in fact, if you're also a properly specced beastmaster, it also lets you make ranged OAs when an opponent attacks your beast!)
 

Yep, one of the players in our group just pointed out "Reapers Touch", a heroic feat.

Seems it gives Warlocks, Sorcerers, Wizards and Invokers an ability to use a ranged attack for a MBA that they couldn't ordinarily do:

But...this is a PC feat - not a monster feat, right? I mean it still comes down to if the stat card for the monster doesn't have it, then they don't have it. Not counting the Almighty House Ruled stuff from your local friendly DM. :)
Reaper's Touch

"Heroic Tier
Prerequisite: Shadar-Kai; invoker, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard class
Benefit: You gain a benefit with any of the following attack powers you know.
Avenging Light (invoker, Player’s Handbook 2, page 103): This power gains a range of Melee touch in addition to its normal range. You can use it as a melee basic attack.
Acid Orb (sorcerer, Player’s Handbook 2, page 138): This power gains a range of Melee touch in addition to its normal range. You can use it as a melee basic attack.
Dragonfrost (sorcerer, Player’s Handbook 2, page 139): This power gains a range of Melee touch in addition to its normal range. You can use it as a melee basic attack.
Eldritch Blast (warlock, Player’s Handbook, page 132): This power gains a range of Melee touch in addition to its normal range. You can use it as a melee basic attack.
Magic Missile (wizard, Player’s Handbook, page 132): This power gains a range of Melee touch in addition to its normal range. You can use it as a melee basic attack.

First published in Dragon Magazine Annual 2009"
 

Not to be rude, but. . .

Man where have you been! This feat when it came out was not restricted to Shadar-Kai. It appeared in a racial article, but the wording of the feat left it open to all races. It was pretty much a must have for a lot of builds, and the mainstay of a Fyecharger build on charop. Pretty much an Eladrin gish that charged using Fey Step and Magic Missile.

Now that it is Shadar-Kai only I see it around less and less, but it is still a fantastic feat.

Jay
 

Only if the 'player' is the one provoking the attack. Another ally adjacent to the opponent can. However, I'm not aware of any ranged or area OAs by the book (which means I haven't looked. I don't need a lits, thanks).

To the OP: The DM most likely isn't playing perfectly correctly by the rules. However this is something rather minor and there's no reason they couldn't just change the monster so it had a 'Magic Missile' OA that was melee touch. There's a feat to do it already.

I wouldn't worry about it, though I'd bring it to their attention just so it doesn't get to be a problem with something nastier like beholder eye rays.

I must have bored everyone with my long post. I addressed this and the question it was relating to in my earlier post last night. :p
 

Remove ads

Top