Maintaining Zone and Delayed Actions

Istar

First Post
If a character is minor action maintaining a zone.
And for some reason he is not going to be able to do it in time, say he cant see it.

Can he delay his turn till someone else acts, and then the zone is still in play.

Say he is immobolised and get to a position to view the zone.

Can he delay, and then another character drags him into position, then he sustain minors.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. One of the consequences of the Delay action is that any power you must spend actions to sustain ends as soon as you Delay (PH1 page 288).
 


Delay can never be used to extend any positive effect in any way.

Anything beneficial that happens at the end of your turn, or at the beginning of the turn you delay to will not happen. Anything beneficial that -ends- at the end of your turn, or beginning of the turn you delay to -will- end.

Anything detrimental, on the otherhand... well...

If it would end on the turn you delay from, it does not end. If it would end at the beginning of the turn you delay to, it does not end.

As well, any detrimental events that occur at the beginning or end of your turns may end up doubledipped.

So... if you have regeneration 5, and ongoing damage 5 (save ends), and an ally has given you a bonus to Ac until the end of your next turn, but you're also weakened until the end of your next turn, but you have font of life....

Your turn:

-Font of Life allows a saving throw, which you fail for the purpose of this example.
-Regeneration 5 happens, and ongoing damage 5, both happen.
You decide to delay...

No saving throw versus the ongoing damage can happen, nor do you lose weakened. However, you DO lose the bonus to AC.

Monster goes, you decide to go.

Beginning of that turn
-Font of Life never happens, and you do not get a save.
-Regeneration does NOT happen, ongoing damage DOES for 5 damage.

You are still weakened, and after your turn is over, only then can you save vs the ongoing damage.
 

Delay can never be used to extend any positive effect in any way.

Anything beneficial that happens at the end of your turn, or at the beginning of the turn you delay to will not happen. Anything beneficial that -ends- at the end of your turn, or beginning of the turn you delay to -will- end.

Anything detrimental, on the otherhand... well...

If it would end on the turn you delay from, it does not end. If it would end at the beginning of the turn you delay to, it does not end.

As well, any detrimental events that occur at the beginning or end of your turns may end up doubledipped.

So... if you have regeneration 5, and ongoing damage 5 (save ends), and an ally has given you a bonus to Ac until the end of your next turn, but you're also weakened until the end of your next turn, but you have font of life....

Your turn:

-Font of Life allows a saving throw, which you fail for the purpose of this example.
-Regeneration 5 happens, and ongoing damage 5, both happen.
You decide to delay...

No saving throw versus the ongoing damage can happen, nor do you lose weakened. However, you DO lose the bonus to AC.

Monster goes, you decide to go.

Beginning of that turn
-Font of Life never happens, and you do not get a save.
-Regeneration does NOT happen, ongoing damage DOES for 5 damage.

You are still weakened, and after your turn is over, only then can you save vs the ongoing damage.

Citation for the ongoing damage to happen twice?
 


The fact that when you pop back in, your turn happens as normal. Start of turn stuff does not not happen.

Exactly. Start of turn stuff happens when you decide to delay.

I just re-read the rules to be sure I wasn't missing something, and this is how it goes.

Bruno the wizard, who comes at initiative 15, has the following conditions on himself and others.
he has regeneration 5
he has ongoing 5 fire damage
he is sustaining a stinking cloud
he also just imposed (last round) dazed until the end of his next turn on monster Y
he is also weakened until the end of his next turn

Initiative 15 comes up
Bruno regenerates 5
Bruno takes ongoing 5 fire damage

Bruno decides to delay until initiative 10
The stinking cloud disappears, since he has not sustained it.
the dazed condition of monster y ends

initiative 10 comes up
Bruno attacks monster X - he hits, but he is still weakened
Bruno saves against the ongoing 5 fire damage
the weakened conditions leaves him

and the initiative proceeds.
 

Start of Your Turn: At the moment you delay, carry out the start of your turn normally.

So "start of turn" stuff actually does happen. You'd get Font of Life Saving Throws and etc., regeneration would happen, so would ongoing damage, and you'd lose any beneficial effect that was EoNT (stun an enemy, marks, self-buffs, etc.,) because you cannot use delaying to increase the duration of effects. Then when you re-insert yourself into the order, the normal start of turn things don't happen, you just get your Move+Minor+Standard and then the harmful EoNT gets sorted out (if you were weakened, dazed, needed to make a normal saving throw, etc.)
 

Ok, now here's an interesting one:

what if a monster has hit you with an EoNT effect and you delay until after the end of its next turn? Does the effect wear off before you go or not?
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top