log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Making an multi-attack with a non-light weapon in each hand

The term "two-weapon fighting" in 5e refers specifically to a bonus attack. The rules state that both weapons must be light (barring a feat) and the character does not receive damage bonus from the offhand. I believe RAW this only refers to using the bonus action to attack with a second weapon and does not apply to multi-attack.

Say a 5th level fighter has a longsword in one hand and a spear in the other. To my knowledge there is nothing to prevent the fighter or other character with multi-attack making one attack with the long sword and his second attach with the spear.

My understanding is this is totally legal in terms of RAW and both of these attacks in this scenario would get his strength bonus because they are both a normal attack as part of the attack action and this is not "two-weapon fighting".

If the character had polearm master he could follow this up with a bonus action attack with the butt of the spear for 1d4+strength.

Is this a correct interpretation of the rules?
Technically, only monsters can have "multiattack", you mean "extra attack". But it is otherwise correct. I personally only allow the PAM extra attack if it is used two handed, but that is a houserule.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would agree with the IP, except for the damage of the butt side attack.
"this attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon's damage die for this attack is a d4".
looks like just a d4, no strength bonus, to me.
 

I would agree with the IP, except for the damage of the butt side attack.
"this attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon's damage die for this attack is a d4".
looks like just a d4, no strength bonus, to me.
It's normal to list the damage die without mentioning the damage from the ability modifier. The "add your ability modifier to your damage roll" is a general rule. The "you don't add your ability modifier to damage when you attack with an off hand weapon unless you have two weapon style" is a specific rule that only applies to that situation.

The butt attack gets bonus damage from str (and other abilities, such as barbarian rage).
 

"You are taking the attack action and you are also attacking with a melee weapon when you cast GFB so I would allow it as long as that weapon was light and you also had a light weapon in the other hand."

That's true, but is not relevant to this situation. The OP is specifically talking about making attacks with NON-light weapons in each hand.
 

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top