once and for all, can you wield 2 implements?


log in or register to remove this ad

WOTC has updated their PHB faq with an answer to this. Question #19

Answer

And there we have it.
Yep. That's exactly why I choose to quibble with "transfer" vs. "place" -- the initial tactic of Reaving pop + Corruption spread seems perfectly fine IMHO.

It's the next step of the combo, the minor action = infinite bloodbath, which seems less than fine.

Cheers, -- N
 

Yep. That's exactly why I choose to quibble with "transfer" vs. "place" -- the initial tactic of Reaving pop + Corruption spread seems perfectly fine IMHO.

It's the next step of the combo, the minor action = infinite bloodbath, which seems less than fine.

Cheers, -- N

that was my problem too, but even after I saw how that exploit could be fixed by differentiating between 'place' and 'transfer,' I knew similiar exploits would arise, had the dual wielding not been intended at all....
 

that was my problem too, but even after I saw how that exploit could be fixed by differentiating between 'place' and 'transfer,' I knew similiar exploits would arise, had the dual wielding not been intended at all....
Yeah. I'll quibble (or house rule) anything equally abusive as it comes out. Still, I do want to allow cool use of item synergy, since most of the time the interactions aren't broken.

Cheers, -- N
 


MY E-MAIL TO CS:

It would appear that you (Customer Service) gave contradictory responses to two similar questions about the effects of wielding a Rod of Corruption and a Rod of Reaving simultaneously.

See the below forum threads to see what I mean...

...First Question - http://www.enworld.org/forum/d-d-4t...l-can-you-wield-2-implements.html#post4466117

...First CS Response - http://www.enworld.org/forum/d-d-4t...l-can-you-wield-2-implements.html#post4466599

...Second Question AND CS Response - http://www.enworld.org/forum/d-d-4t...l-can-you-wield-2-implements.html#post4466668

So, which is it? Can you or can you not use the two rods in conjunction to sweep minions off the battlefield like so much dust?

It is probably in your interest to get it sorted out once and for all. Such contradictions completely undermine the work you do.

********************
Page Number: 239-240
Book Name: Player's Handbook





CS RESPONSE:

Hello Juddson,

We have noted that there's been some concern about this via forum posts, and as such have updated our Player's Handbook FAQ to help resolve the situation.

The final answer is yes, you can use a rod of reaving and rod of corruption to destroy a large number of minions with one curse. You'll find that answer under #19, here in our knowledge base:

Answer Title: FAQ for the Player's Handbook!
Answer Link: Answer

I apologize for the miscommunication. Please feel free to share that information around, so we can hopefully end the confusion that's occurred.

Thanks, and hope you're enjoying 4th edition!


We would appreciate your feedback on the service we are providing you. Please click here to fill out a short questionnaire.

To login to your account, or update your question please click here.

Josh
Customer Service Representative
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST


Um, does this mean my E-mail is what prompted them to put it in the FAQ? Oh well, doesn't matter, you have your ONCE AND FOR ALL FINAL ANSWER! Yay!
 
Last edited:

wait...what??? They actually WANT that combo to work that way??

The FAQ doesn't mention this per se. It simply says that you may use the properties of 2 rods. It makes no mention of these tow specific rods, or that combo. Considering that we've gotten contradictory answers b4, it may be that Josh is misinterpreting. I mean, like us, these guys are only human, and it's not like WOTC calls a board meeting everytime one of us asks a question. There are bound to be contradictions resulting from different staff members interpretations.

IMO that combo is gamebreaking, a perfect example of an exploitation of the rules. I'm quite surprised that anyone would disagree, particularly someone at WOTC. These 2 rods are pretty low level magic items. And this combo will kill all minins of ANY level. You could be a level 5 warlock destroying an army of level 10 minions this way. Sure, it's restricted by the range of the Rod Of Corruptions property, but even still.... There's no way this is gonna be allowed in our group. We all hate to houserule anything, and have agreed not to do so in 4e, but I don't see any other way out of this if this combo is official.

I'm really hoping that that Josh is mistaken.....
 
Last edited:

wait...what??? They actually WANT that combo to work that way??

The FAQ doesn't mention this per se. It simply says that you may use the properties of 2 rods. It makes no mention of these tow specific rods, or that combo. Considering that we've gotten contradictory answers b4, it may be that Josh is misinterpreting. I mean, like us, these guys are only human, and it's not like WOTC calls a board meeting everytime one of us asks a question. There are bound to be contradictions resulting from different staff members interpretations.

IMO that combo is gamebreaking, a perfect example of an exploitation of the rules. I'm quite surprised that anyone would disagree, particularly someone at WOTC. These 2 rods are pretty low level magic items. And this combo will kill all minins of ANY level. You could be a level 5 warlock destroying an army of level 10 minions this way. Sure, it's restricted by the range of the Rod Of Corruptions property, but even still.... There's no way this is gonna be allowed in our group. We all hate to houserule anything, and have agreed not to do so in 4e, but I don't see any other way out of this if this combo is official.

I'm really hoping that that Josh is mistaken.....

They're minions. They're meant to die. They're not Orcus. Any destruction of minions I'd hardly call 'gamebreaking'. The wizard could pretty easily clear a lot of them with one power as well.

There are plenty of other ways for warlocks to massacre minions, especially with Adventurer's Vault and the new Dark Pact in Forgotten Realms.

Dark Pact level 1 Encounter - Cursebite - do 2d8 to all cursed targets in burst 20

Quickcurse Rod - Quickcurse lets you put your Curse on anyone in sight once an encounter

So - there's another 'destroy all minions' warlock combo.
 

Dark Pact level 1 Encounter - Cursebite - do 2d8 to all cursed targets in burst 20

Quickcurse Rod - Quickcurse lets you put your Curse on anyone in sight once an encounter

So - there's another 'destroy all minions' warlock combo.

difference between these 2 combos is that cursebite is a power, which requires more than a minor action. Also, it's an encounter power. the reaving+corruption combo lets you do it with a minor action, every round.

Still, you have inspired some rethinking. I honestly haven't looked at other ways of doing this. it may very well be that the reaving+corruption combo isn't all that unique, and therefore not as unbalanced as I thought.
 

wait...what??? They actually WANT that combo to work that way?? (...) I'm really hoping that that Josh is mistaken.....
CustServ had about a 50% hit rate in 3.x, and nothing seems to indicate they've improved since 4.0e came out.

Honestly, I tend to think contacting them is counter-productive. Their answers often don't stand up to future FAQ updates or rules clarifications via errata.

The FAQ doesn't mention this per se.
Exactly. By bringing it up, he's showing he doesn't really understand the question.

Cheers, -- N
 

Remove ads

Top