A creature can generally notice the presence of an active invisible creature within 30 feet with a DC 20 Spot check. The observer gains a hunch that “something’s there” but can’t see it or target it accurately with an attack. A creature who is holding still is very hard to notice (DC 30). An inanimate object, an unliving creature holding still, or a completely immobile creature is even harder to spot (DC 40). It’s practically impossible (+20 DC) to pinpoint an invisible creature’s location with a Spot check, and even if a character succeeds on such a check, the invisible creature still benefits from total concealment (50% miss chance).
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.
irdeggman said:No.
You must be able to "see" or "touch" the target. Pinpointing doesn't allow you to see the target, especially since he has total concealment.
RigaMortus2 said:But it does allow you to know where he is, and that allows you to touch them, or at least gives you enough information to attempt to touch him. Or to put it another, invisiblility doesn't prevent you from touching a target, it just makes it harder to do so.
I say it depends on the spell. For Magic Missile, you need to see them, for Acid Arrow you can fire at the invisible target with the appropriate miss chances.
irdeggman said:IMO spells that fall under the category of weapon-like spells should likewise fall under the rules for weapons in this regard.
Acid Arrow is a weapon like spell, while Magic Missile is not.
ceratitis said:btw-would you treat a ray spell as a weapon like effect? you do roll attack but it usually says you need to see the target.
Z
ceratitis said:but if you have a 50% chance to miss why would a +20 to hit cancel it? or does the spell discription says so (no books with me)?