Prohibited Schools Out of Class?

Jeff Wilder

First Post
I'm playing a 3rd cleric/3rd necromancer/1st mystic theurge. My prohibited schools (for specialization in necro) are Enchantment and Illusion.

I'm almost certain that I've read somewhere that a specialist wizard's prohibited schools apply to all of his spellcasting levels. (I.e., since bless is an Enchantment, if I'm correct about this rule, I would not be able to cast it.) I can't find the rule.

Does anyone know definitely one way or the other? If you've got a rules cite, so much the better.

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The only specific reference I remember says just the opposite. T&B says that a specialist wizard can grab a level of sorcerer to access wands of prohibited spells. (And presumably scrolls, albeit at CL 1, as well as whatever spells he puts in his sorcerer slots.)
 


Humanophile said:
The only specific reference I remember says just the opposite. T&B says that a specialist wizard can grab a level of sorcerer to access wands of prohibited spells. (And presumably scrolls, albeit at CL 1, as well as whatever spells he puts in his sorcerer slots.)

However, I am fairly certain that for the arcane spellcaster levels gained by Mystic Theurge, you would still be prohibited from casting Enchantements and Illusions.


jtb
 

jerichothebard said:
However, I am fairly certain that for the arcane spellcaster levels gained by Mystic Theurge, you would still be prohibited from casting Enchantements and Illusions.

Right. The Theurge gives him an extra caster level in Necromancer, and as a Necromancer, he can't cast Enchantment and Illusion.

As a Cleric, he can.

-Hyp.
 

Your barred schools would only apply to the class that is also benefiting from the same specialization that required the barred school in the first place. In the MT example, your cleric spellcasting isn't getting a bonus spell per level from your wizard specialization, so likewise it's not subject to the restrictions that specialization incur.
 

Remove ads

Top