log in or register to remove this ad

 

5E Question about Conjure Minor Elementals.

BacchusNL

Explorer
Hey people,

My charater just picked up a ring that lets him summon some magma mephits (as per conjure minor elementals) so I was going over the stat block and saw they can all cast Heat Metal. But I can't stack 4-5 heat metals on the same target, because that would technicly be the same as stacking 4x Bless on the same character, right? Or is there an exception for offensive spells like this I'm not aware of?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Umbran

Mod Squad
Staff member
Know that long list of inventory your players have that they haven't calculated encumbrance for? Every dagger is a valid target so long as they are carrying it.

Yes, but it will have no mechanical impact unless the character is in physical contact with the item - holding or wearing it - not just carrying it somewhere in their packs. And suits of armor count as one item, not as several. You can target a sheathed sword, but that sheath means the character won't take damage.
 

BacchusNL

Explorer
I'm a PC in the campaign, not the DM, so I doubt NPC's will walk around with 5 daggers in their belt :p The main thing I was wondering was wether a single piece of armor or weapon could be targeted multiple times, like a Firebolt spell or other straight-up damage spells.
 

Umbran

Mod Squad
Staff member
Oh, I wouldn't expect to be able to stack multiple castings of the same spell at the same time on one target, be it an object or a creature.

YOu could cast one on the creature's armor, and another on its weapon and a third if it had a metal shield, but not three on the armor.
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top