Flipguarder
First Post
I was DM in a session last night, and I came across this situation. The fighter has rain of steel, which is worded like this
Rain of steel is an attack power. The only two reasonable ways for a player to directly damage a monster is by an aoe power that creates an effect, or by attacking them. Since this is not an aura (would count under aoe power) and it doesn't create a zone, I ruled that it is an attack. It does hit automatically just like it says, but still an attack, based on both the fact that it is not a close burst, or aura.
That being said, the monster can use his power because he is being hit by an attack. Im curious about other's input on this.
EDIT: LOL I suppose Im tired. We also realized last night that it is an immediate interrupt during his turn and therefore does not work. So..... yeah. Still would like to hear others input on the ruling if there was a situation similar but not during the enemies turn.
An enemy started their turn adjacent to them. But had this power:Rain of Steel Fighter Attack 5
You constantly swing your weapon about, slashing and cutting
into nearby enemies.
Daily ✦ Martial, Stance,Weapon
Minor Action Personal
Effect: Any enemy that starts its turn adjacent to you takes
1[W] damage, as long as you are able to make opportunity
attacks.
Now as DM I made a snap judgment regarding their interaction that goes like this.Bend Space (immediate interrupt, when it would be hit by an
attack; recharge![]()
) ✦ Teleportation
The foulspawn seer teleports 3 squares.
Rain of steel is an attack power. The only two reasonable ways for a player to directly damage a monster is by an aoe power that creates an effect, or by attacking them. Since this is not an aura (would count under aoe power) and it doesn't create a zone, I ruled that it is an attack. It does hit automatically just like it says, but still an attack, based on both the fact that it is not a close burst, or aura.
That being said, the monster can use his power because he is being hit by an attack. Im curious about other's input on this.
EDIT: LOL I suppose Im tired. We also realized last night that it is an immediate interrupt during his turn and therefore does not work. So..... yeah. Still would like to hear others input on the ruling if there was a situation similar but not during the enemies turn.