Readied charge?

mikebr99 said:
I would think Cometary Collision would be a useless feat if it wasn't the exception to the rule...
I agree, though CC has the additional advantage of spoiling the other's charge (they do not get an attack).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I have grandfathered 3.0's "partial charge" with no troubles in my game.

I allow someone to ready a charge, but they do not get a double move, but get their attack at the end of their normal move.
 

Ender_rpm said:
source please? Never had this issue myself, just like to know.

under the rules of "charging":

If you are able to take only a standard action or a move action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed). You can’t use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action or move action on your turn. (emphasis mine)

Please note this is "on your turn". On your turn, you get to choose what to do, whether that's move, attack, whatever. On your turn, you are not restricted to making a standard action, you have a full round available. Once you ready an action, you may only have a standard action you can perform during that readied action, but that wasn't a restriction on how much you can do "on your turn". You're in the middle of your turn.

-Nate
 


That's weired: it could be better to be slowed than not. Slowed you can ready a charge (might be very effective against casters) while you can't do this during a non-slowed round.
Next someone invents the swift slow (1 round) spell to be able to ready a charge...

I think it wouldn't be far off to allow partial charge as readied action. The readied action could not be triggered and you would lose a full round of actions. So it's a little balanced. And it makes moving around the battlefield more viable option than just to close up and whack ahead for the rest of the fight. More dynamic isn't bad I think.
 

The Souljourner said:
under the rules of "charging":

...

Please note this is "on your turn". On your turn, you get to choose what to do, whether that's move, attack, whatever. On your turn, you are not restricted to making a standard action, you have a full round available. Once you ready an action, you may only have a standard action you can perform during that readied action, but that wasn't a restriction on how much you can do "on your turn". You're in the middle of your turn.

-Nate


Well, no... Your "turn" is over. There is a sort of "left-over" action that is limited to a standard acction that can be taken if/when the triggering event occurs. At that time, you can only take a standard action. Nothing in any way implies you are "in the middle" of you turn: your turn is actually over.

What you are doing is preparing to take an action for when you are only allowed a standard action.

Anyway, this can be done either way and be valid according to reasonable rules interpreatations.

It appears the feat in PHMII implies that WotC thinks you can do this.

I thought the FAQ had something on this, but I don't see it.
 

I always felt you SHOULD be able to ready a partial charge, and I never understood why it was eliminated when 3.5 came out. I never felt it was overpowered (heck our enemies used it on us far more than the players did it anyway). I wonder why they got rid of it?
 

Mistwell said:
I always felt you SHOULD be able to ready a partial charge, and I never understood why it was eliminated when 3.5 came out. I never felt it was overpowered (heck our enemies used it on us far more than the players did it anyway). I wonder why they got rid of it?
Because when it was allowed people tried to Move using their speed to an optimal location and then ready a partial charge that would go off almost immediately after their turn was over.

Now 3.5 could have said “If you ready a partial charge, all movement you made on that turn must be legal for the charge you will take, otherwise you can’t charge.” That would prevent crooked readied charges and 5’ step and readied charge. Or even “You can’t move or take a 5’ adjustment on a turn when you ready a charge” would be even simpler.

But It seems wotc felt that would be too hard to remember for the folks they expected to have trouble multiplying the power attack bonus by 1.5.
 

Artoomis said:
Well, no... Your "turn" is over. There is a sort of "left-over" action that is limited to a standard acction that can be taken if/when the triggering event occurs. At that time, you can only take a standard action. Nothing in any way implies you are "in the middle" of you turn: your turn is actually over.

What you are doing is preparing to take an action for when you are only allowed a standard action.

Right. But you can't make a restricted charge any time you are limited to a standard action; you can make a restricted charge when you are limited to a standard action on your turn.

And as you just explained, when you ready an action, it limits you to a standard action after your turn is over. Being limited to a standard action after your turn is over is not being limited to a standard action on your turn, so you're still not eligible to make a restricted charge.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Right. But you can't make a restricted charge any time you are limited to a standard action; you can make a restricted charge when you are limited to a standard action on your turn.

And as you just explained, when you ready an action, it limits you to a standard action after your turn is over. Being limited to a standard action after your turn is over is not being limited to a standard action on your turn, so you're still not eligible to make a restricted charge.

-Hyp.

Ah, but when the triggering event occurs it is now your new turn - albeit a restricted one, right?

But this is all splitting hairs - allow it if you want, deny it if you want. You can justify either decision from the rules (like in so many of these things).

It sounds to me like the feat in PHBII may indicate that WotC stands behind allowing it. Not owning PHBII, I cannot really say.
 

Remove ads

Top