Readied charge?

Ender_rpm said:
Wow, thats a radical change!!! So now you can
1. Move full base to get in position,
2. Then charge another 10', as long as its in a straight line and attack atthe end?
Wow.

No.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


RangerWickett said:
Of course that's not rules as written, but Hyp, what's your opinion on how balanced it would be if it were the rules?

I'm not that keen on it; given how many things there are out there that boost a charge, I think it behooves us to retain the straight line restriction.

Otherwise, there will be a lot of tumble-back-10-feet-and-charge going on every round.

-Hyp.
 

I like that charges are restricted right now. As HS mentioned, there's a lot of charging bonii out there that you wouldn't want too easily given. Making it need a straight line and a full round action is a good restriction.

I don't think it's totally necessary to be able to ready a charge. That's what ranged attacks are for (I recently had to berate the barbarian in our game for not carrying a bow or something with him.... he gets full base attack bonus and martial weapons, there's no excuse for not having a ranged weapon...).

The thing of it is, a charge is supposed to take a lot of time. You're supposed to be running full tilt into someone. Readied attacks are supposed to be lightning quick reactions to things happening on the field of battle. Running 30' and hitting someone seems like it should take a lot longer than the split second you have when a mage pops into visibility while firing off a fireball.

-Nate
 

Hypersmurf said:
Right. But you can't make a restricted charge any time you are limited to a standard action; you can make a restricted charge when you are limited to a standard action on your turn.

And as you just explained, when you ready an action, it limits you to a standard action after your turn is over. Being limited to a standard action after your turn is over is not being limited to a standard action on your turn, so you're still not eligible to make a restricted charge.

-Hyp.

Why not? When your action triggers, it will be your turn. And there is nothing that prevents you from readying an action that is not currently legal but may be in the future; quite the contrary, that is one of the most useful aspects of a readied action.
 

pawsplay said:
Why not? When your action triggers, it will be your turn.
No, it won't. The readied action happens when it is not your turn. After the ready action is taken the initiative gets changed.

Readying an Action
You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.

Initiative Consequences of Readying
Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don’t get to take the readied action (though you can ready the same action again). If you take your readied action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.
 

pawsplay said:
Why not? When your action triggers, it will be your turn.

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun.

The action happens after your turn is over. It happens before your next turn begins. The action does not occur on your turn.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun.

The action happens after your turn is over. It happens before your next turn begins. The action does not occur on your turn.

-Hyp.

Okay. And then my intiative changes to that count. Thus, if my initiative is 15, and I ready an action, and on initiative 7 it is triggered, I take the readied action before my next turn... and then it's my turn and I get a turn on initiative 7?

I do not agree with your reading. I think that sentence refers to your position in the initiative when you ready the eaction, not that readied actions do not happen in a turn.
 

Readying a charge is not allowed.

There is a glitch in the rules (and not the writer's intent) that could lead one to believe that readying a charge is possible if you are slowed, staggered, disabled, a zombie, etc. However, it is a glitch, and allowing such leads to all sorts of wierdness.

This has actually been discussed at length in several long threads:
Here
Here
Here
Here
Here and
Here
 

pawsplay said:
Okay. And then my intiative changes to that count. Thus, if my initiative is 15, and I ready an action, and on initiative 7 it is triggered, I take the readied action before my next turn... and then it's my turn and I get a turn on initiative 7?

The count on which your turn now occurs in the initiative order is the count that just went past while you took your readied action.

Your turn this round was on count 15 this round. Your turn next round (your next turn) is on count 7 next round. The readied action took place on count 7 this round... between your turn, and your next turn.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top