Readied charge?

Artoomis said:
Ah, but when the triggering event occurs it is now your new turn - albeit a restricted one, right?

No.

"The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun."

It happens after this turn, and before next turn; it is not your turn when it occurs.

You can justify either decision from the rules.

How? You can only ready a standard action, not a full-round action; you can only charge as a standard action under certain circumstances. If those circumstances are not met, therefore, you cannot ready a charge.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
...How? You can only ready a standard action, not a full-round action; you can only charge as a standard action under certain circumstances. If those circumstances are not met, therefore, you cannot ready a charge.

-Hyp.


Arguably, a Readied Action is just such a circumstance. Not for sure, only arguably.

Intelligent, knowledgeable people disgaree on this point, and it has been endlessly debated with no real final, defintive answer.

Pretty much the essence of both sides has already been presented in this short thread.
 


Just another reason I hate the "legalese" that is in the current rules. You can charge when you're slowed, or a zombie, but you can't charge when you ready an action... :confused:

In my game, you can ready a charge - call it a houserule if you must, I call it logic. :p
 

Hey, guys, I have the latest version of the PHB, which actually revises the charging rules, and specifically calls out the change:

"Charging: A charge is a standard action. You move up to your base speed in a straight line toward a target and make a single attack. You take a -2 penalty to your AC until your next turn, and if you moved at least 10 ft. as part of this charge, you gain a +2 bonus to your attack roll at the end of the charge. Other movement during your turn does not have to be in the same straight line as your charge."

It goes on to say:

"Designer's Note: We made this change because we felt the previous wording of the initiative rules and how they interacted with charging caused some illogical and somewhat silly results, such as people who are hasted not being able to charge in situations where a slowed character could. In the previous version of the rules, a character with a speed of 90 ft. could move forward 5 ft., turn a corner, and travel 85 ft. in a straight line, but apparently would not have enough momentum to count as a 'charge.' We feel this version of the rule will significantly cut down on internet discussions of charging, and will benefit humanity by cutting down on server and bandwith costs."
 

RangerWickett said:
Hey, guys, I have the latest version of the PHB, which actually revises the charging rules, and specifically calls out the change:

"Charging: A charge is a standard action. You move up to your base speed in a straight line toward a target and make a single attack. You take a -2 penalty to your AC until your next turn, and if you moved at least 10 ft. as part of this charge, you gain a +2 bonus to your attack roll at the end of the charge. Other movement during your turn does not have to be in the same straight line as your charge."

It goes on to say:

"Designer's Note: We made this change because we felt the previous wording of the initiative rules and how they interacted with charging caused some illogical and somewhat silly results, such as people who are hasted not being able to charge in situations where a slowed character could. In the previous version of the rules, a character with a speed of 90 ft. could move forward 5 ft., turn a corner, and travel 85 ft. in a straight line, but apparently would not have enough momentum to count as a 'charge.' We feel this version of the rule will significantly cut down on internet discussions of charging, and will benefit humanity by cutting down on server and bandwith costs."

Say what?

What "latest version"? The special edition?
 


I detected some sarcasm in the end of the "designer's notes", calling into question the seriousness of the entire post. Of course, it was definitely a good chuckle, but possibly a creation of Wickett rather than WotC.

...and then my suspicions were found true. Hah!
 

Wow, thats a radical change!!! So now you can
1. Move full base to get in position,
2. Then charge another 10', as long as its in a straight line and attack atthe end?
Wow.
 

RangerWickett said:
Mistwell, I got this copy of the PHB from the same source that helped me leak the contents of Draconomicon all those years ago. Y'know, the special edition of the book?

You are a bad man. How many games just adopted this rule thinking it's real? Bad Wickett!
 

Remove ads

Top