Rules of the Game - silence spell and sonic effects

Legildur

First Post
See 'Rules of the Game - Reading Spell Descriptions (part 2)' at:

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040803a

(my emphasis)

The silence spell description says that the spell provides protection against sonic effects. For all practical purposes, this means that a silence spell blocks line of effect for a sonic spell. The sonic spell's area cannot extend into the area that a silence spell's emanation fills, and neither can a sonic spell be cast through a silence spell's emanation to affect something on the other side.

I know that there has been a lot of debate previously on the boards about this issue. While not Errata or FAQ, it still might help settle some debates.

(apologies if this is old news or no longer in debate)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ah well. You can still cast a sonic spell (e.g. Sound Burst) to affect an area behind a silenced area since it does not block line of sight... at least I hope so.
 

No you cannot. From the SRD:
Line of Effect: A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It’s like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it’s not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast
.

A burst, cone, cylinder, or emanation spell affects only an area, creatures, or objects to which it has line of effect from its origin (a spherical burst’s center point, a cone-shaped burst’s starting point, a cylinder’s circle, or an emanation’s point of origin).​
Thus if silence blocks line of effect for silence spells, then you cannot cast sound burst anywhere beyond the silenced area.
 

Darklone: But the whole point is that it only needs to block line of effect, right? I agree with the previous poster.
 
Last edited:

If line of effect is blocked, as the text says it is, then no. A sonic spell will be effectively blocked by the radius of effect of a silence spell and won't proceed through the silenced area.
 

That seems silly to me, akin to saying that a magic circle against evil blocks line of effect for charm spells. I think I'll ignore this ruling.

Daniel
 

Remove ads

Top