It is useful. PAM is the one I don't think is very useful.Warcaster is really really useful feat for every situation, especially that Sorcerers are con proficient and get free spell oportunity attack. It's not melee focused feat, not even close. Advantage on concentration checks is just, amazing.
I don't see it. While you can do a lot of damage you are going to get slaughtered in melee, disadvantage and all. You have a 15-ish AC, even with disadvantage that is not close to being good enough to survive. If you use shield to boost it to 20 with disadvantage you are on the fringe of being survivable in melee with d6 hp, but you are using your reaction so you won't be able to use shield very often.PAM turns the Sorcerer better melee than melee character.
There are two areas that make this objectively not true:So, yes. It's effectively better caster than casters (free advantage for everything, attack rolls, disadvantage against your spells), metamagic and extra hound damage and prone condition and the hound's oportunity attack.
You are correct. If it was 1 of them it would be normal, with 4 it is deadly, I corrected my post.4 CR8 is much stronger than a party 8th level characters, it's a fatal encounter . Did you notice it?
1 assassin that is normal is pretty easy.You are correct. If it was 1 of them it would be normal, with 4 it is deadly.
Nonetheless if I put an actual melee oriented character like a bladesinger, eldritch knight or even a Barbarian in the same situation she would be A LOT better off after one turn of combat. Let me know if you want that math too.
A bladesinger or eldritch knight likely would escape the first turn unscathed even when being attacked by one more.
Quick questions,1 assassin that is normal is pretty easy.
Booming blade, average 22 damage.
It attacks with a magical dagger (thanks DM).Quick questions,
1. where is the sorcerer getting Polearm (or Lance) Proficiency, a martial reach weapon?
2. How are you getting average 22 damage, even IF a Lance is allowed for Polearm master and the sorcerer can use it? 7th level BB: 1d12(6.5)+1d8(4.5) +3 (16 strength, though how you pull that while also having a decent CHA, Dex and non garbage Con I have no idea) = 14 (assuming an unrealistic 100% hit rate, really it'll be around 80% if you have advantage so actual average is around 11). Are you assuming an OA every round? Because sure, 22 but unrealistic.
It attacks with a magical dagger (thanks DM).
Empowered Booming Blade
1d4 dagger +3 + 1d8(5,5 average empowered) + Extra damage when enemy moves 2d8 (average 9). (It moves or die).
It's 20 average damage.
+2 because I have a magical dagger.
No, PAM works because I'm wielding a Glaive.So:
You have a magical dagger that works with PAM;
You're always fighting things that can't get around magical darkness;
You're fighting enemies that move away rather than recognizing standing put and trying to kill you might be the better option. Or enemies that can't phase, misty step, teleport etc.
Your DM let's you dictate the pace of play enough that the large resource expenditure isn't crippling.
The 15' magical darkness isn't hampering party members despite other posters ' and my own experience showing that it really tends to.
Just pointing out there are A LOT of positive assumptions going on and without them the build suffers.
But it's clearly working for you and sounds like you're henning fun - so that's really what it's all about!
Back to, how are you proficient in the Glaive?Hold a Glaive and attacks with a dagger. Yes, with Warcaster The Sorcerer can do it. It can hold with one hand and attack with off-hand weapon.
That's a BIG assumption! Kind of like saying the devotion paladin always activates his channel divinity before combat (when in reality the standard action is a big downside).Always that starts a battle, the darkness is always on.
"Holding" isn't "wielding". A two-handed weapon requires only one hand to hold, but two to wield. You have to be wielding it for the feat to give you extra attacks of opportunity, which is what you are using the feat for I thought.No, PAM works because I'm wielding a Glaive.
Hold a Glaive and Attack with a dagger. Yes, Warcaster feat allows the Sorcerer do it. It can hold with one hand (Giant Glaive) and attack with off-hand weapon (Magical Dagger).
It isn't proficientBack to, how are you proficient in the Glaive?
And, hold, yes, attack, how? The Glaive is a 2 Handed weapon. Are you dropping the dagger every time you use it? Seems clunky!
That's a BIG assumption! Kind of like saying the devotion paladin always activates his channel divinity before combat (when in reality the standard action is a big downside).
Anyway, sure, under IDEAL conditions, it's a killer set of abilities.
The Glaive requires two hands only when you attack with it."Holding" isn't "wielding". A two-handed weapon requires only one hand to hold, but two to wield. You have to be wielding it for the feat to give you extra attacks of opportunity, which is what you are using the feat for I thought.
Per the feat (emphasis mine):
It's pretty clear :Per the feat (emphasis mine):
"While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach."
If you want your extra opportunity attacks you've got to be "wielding" the thing. 5e isn't a technical term of art oriented system, but the normal English understanding of "wielding a weapon" is to hold it in a manner where it can be used, not just to hold it.
This isn't about attacking, this is about whether holding a weapon in a way where it can't be used to make an attack in any way counts as "wielding it" for the purpose of triggering PAM opportunity attacks. I'd definitely say no, and I can't imagine I'm alone in that interpretation.
To me its pretty clear, but, The Glaive is more skin than mechanic. It's just pretty cool.This isn't about attacking, this is about whether holding a weapon in a way where it can't be used to make an attack in any way counts as "wielding it" for the purpose of triggering PAM opportunity attacks. I'd definitely say no, and I can't imagine I'm alone in that interpretation.
Just use a one handed spear or quarterstaff and avoid ranged attack roll spells for the attacks of opportunity and you can avoid a whole pile of rules lawyering. It helps trigger your hound's pack tactics advantage to boot.
Only if he moves, which he does not have to do.Booming blade, average 22 damage.
The Hound is attacking with advantage (Pack tatics) him for extra 10 damage and chance prone.
The Hound has 2 attacks with advantage per turn (normal attack and oportunity attack), both with prone chance and critical chance. 44 average damage per turn if all hits (All attack has advantage)
The Shadow Sorcerer can summon another The Hound on next turn
No you are wrong. An Eldritch Knight fighter with 20 strength and great weapon fighting style and a +2 weapon who is going NOVA like you are is going to hit for 67 That is:A STR 20 fighter with PAM level 8, deals around 29 damage per turn without aditional effect. (without advantage).
No it isn't there is math in play here.16 AC with disadvantage and immunity to oportunity attack (Darkness) is much better than 19 AC fighter. Bealive me. If put Shield Spell inside math, it's unfair.
How strong is It?
Everyone Else said:It looks good on paper, but in practice it’s way more trouble than it’s worth.
Why even ask if you’ve already made up your mind? Go ahead and try it if you really want. Just don’t be surprised when it ends up not actually being all that useful and constantly gets in the rest of the party’s way.Hohige said:No, it’s insane!